Database Disk Move Confimation

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Database Disk Move Confimation

I'm having to move my Exchange DB to our SAN this weekend. I've got the LUN carved out, connected to my Exchange server via iSCSI, and properly formated.

Now, all I need to do is go into EMC, right click my Exchange Store and hit Move Database Path.

Run through the Wizard, Express my new DB file path, click Move.

I'm assuming that this will take the DB offline and put it back online after the move.

Anything I'm missing there?

I've never done this before and just looking for some confirmation before I jump in.
    MCITP:SA, MCSA 2003, MCP, CCNA, A+, Net+, Security+

Re: Database Disk Move Confimation

Back up everything first?

That will work on DAS so I presume, since the LUN is just another drive letter, it will work fine
    Tom Jones
    MCT, MCSE (2000:Security & 2003), MCSA:Security & Messaging, MCDBA, MCDST, MCITP(EA, EMA, SA, EDA, ES, CS), MCTS, MCP, Sec+
    PhD, MSc, FIAP, MIITT
    IT Trainer / Consultant
    Ossian Ltd
    Scotland

** Remember to give credit where credit is due and leave reputation points where appropriate **

Comment

sounds fine to me.

although you could try doing it via powershell as well, just to get some practice with that..
      Please do show your appreciation to those who assist you by leaving Rep Point https://www.petri.com/forums/core/im.../icon_beer.gif

Comment

Originally posted by tehcamel View Post
        sounds fine to me.

although you could try doing it via powershell as well, just to get some practice with that..

Yeah, I saw the instructions for that as well.

I am planning to do this after our nightly backup completes, which is around 7PM.

Comment

Your plan sounds fine to me. The only caution I would give is to ignore any progress indicator while the database is being moved as they're notoriously innaccurate. Just let the process run until it says it's done.