This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 2003 to 2010 exchange migration

We have a Windows 2003 server running Exchange 2003. I'd like to move to a Windows 2008 R2 server running Exchange 2010. Has anyone had any experience with this particular configuration? Thanks

Re: 2003 to 2010 exchange migration

I guess a lot reading/writing here does have experiences with this, but what is your particular question?

To get a brief overview try reading technet or other sites.

Comment

I've had some experience with creating the design specification for an upgrade from 2k3 to 2010.

That included installing a complete test bed in a development environment and actually learning how to use the system.
      Please do show your appreciation to those who assist you by leaving Rep Point https://www.petri.com/forums/core/im.../icon_beer.gif

Comment

Thank you both for the reply, they are fair. I know there is a lot of resources available.

This is my current understanding of the process:

1) Windows 2003 server - Exchange 2003 (already exist in production)
        2) Deploy Windows 2008 R2 server
        3) Install Exchange 2010 on the 2008 R2 server
        4) Log into the old Exchange server and move all mailboxes to the new server.

That's it.

Questions:
        1) What else needs to be transferred before the old exchange server needs to be decommissioned?
        2) How does this affect all of the clients pointing to the old exchange server. Do I just updated the DNS records to point to the new servers IP?
        3) How do you go about decommissioning the old server?

Thanks again

Comment

have you had any luck reading about these questions on google at all ?

for instance, stuff like this:
          http://msexchangegeek.com/2010/01/30...exchange-2010/

or this:
          http://social.technet.microsoft.com/...b-f4ac380fb874

?