Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Contacts in a Hosted Exchange 2007

Hi all,

first of all let me say to you that this site is great !!!
    Thx for sharing your knowledge here !!!

I'm a system engineer in a hosting company, and i'm currently building an Exchange 2007 infrastructure for giving us a new product for our costumers.

Since we are a French company, we don't use the Microsoft pre-built Hosted product, because it's only in english, and we don't want to have errors with special chars, as always .

So all the infrastructure is hand-made (a lot of powershell hehe)

I've one question.

How could we manage the contacts, since we want these things :

- CompanyX contacts are not the same that CompanyY contacts
    - [email protected] could be a contact for CompanyX and CompanyY, but can't be the same object in active directory
    - Since we we want that these contacts are available into the Offline Address Book and OWA, we will put these contacts into the dedicated Company Global AddressList

I've read some articles about proxyaddresses and targetaddresses (sample : http://www.exchange2007.com/2008/05/...in-hosted.html), but with this, if i put a false proxyaddress into the contacts objects, external users can not reply to this email address.

Have you got some solutions ?

Re: Contacts in a Hosted Exchange 2007

I assume that when you say Contacts, you're referring to the Address Lists. Here's an article to give you some insight:

http://www.msexchange.org/articles_t...007-part1.html

Comment

Thx for your response.

But no, i dont talk about address lists, just email enabled contacts (external users) which can be added with the new-mailcontact cmdlet

The main goal of a shared addressbook is to share the contacts email addresses. But since Exchange stores all with its primarySMTPAddress and it needs to be unique.