No announcement yet.

Create Server 2008 and Exchange Questions

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Create Server 2008 and Exchange Questions

We will replace NT network w/ Server 2008 and plan to re-join all wks (only 60 wks) to new server 2008 domain instead of migrate NT Server. Also plan to switch to Exchange Server to replace current non-Exchange Email system.

1. Purchase Server 2008 standard 64bit w/ 4G Ram Server box. Logon clients are around 60 wks but email addresses on Exchange will have 250 accounts including sub-companies. Is 4G Ram enough?
    2. I've no experience on Server 2008 but have Server 2003 experience. Is it easy to handle for Server 2008? coz don't want to let Outsider to install it
    3. For Exchange part, any special setting on initial setup on Server 2008 to be compatible with Exchange Server later?
    4. Since Exchange needs AD environment, our sub-company (another email domain name) also uses our Email system. How can we let them to manage their email account indepedently? I mean they can create / delete email boxes etc.

Re: Create Server 2008 and Exchange Questions

1) IMHO 4 GB is NOT enough -- 8 min, more better -- but also see 3 below
    2) Server 2008 has a lot of extras 2003 does not have. You are probably best to get some training plus an evaluation copy (Virtual?) to play with
    3) Although possible, it is better NOT to have Exchange on the same box as the Domain controller. Consider a powerful host machine running 2008 Enterprise with multiple virtual machines for the DC, Exchange etc
    4) Some permissions can be delegated in AD, but less so in Exchange
    Tom Jones
    MCT, MCSE (2000:Security & 2003), MCSA:Security & Messaging, MCDBA, MCDST, MCITP(EA, EMA, SA, EDA, ES, CS), MCTS, MCP, Sec+
    IT Trainer / Consultant
    Ossian Ltd

** Remember to give credit where credit is due and leave reputation points where appropriate **