Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• email vanishing from inbox

Hi,

we are running Windows Small Business Server 2003 with Exchange 2003. Several users at a branch office connect to Exchange via OWA. At this branch one, and only one, user has reported that his received email is vanishing from his inbox.

I sent the user an email, fired up IE, logged in as him and checked the mail was there. I logged off, waited about an hour, logged back in and the message was gone. I repeated the test later with the same result.

The messages are not in his deleted items or junk email folders or anywhere else that I can see. His profile settings all look stock standard.

I'm assuming I need to check the server but as I am a newbie when it comes to Exchange I don't know where to start.

Any suggestions warmly welcomed.

Re: email vanishing from inbox

Just a thought:
    He doesnt have a PST file as the "deliver mail to" option in Outlook?

I can't test it right now but IIRC this causes messages to move from the Exchange inbox to the PST, so dropping off from OWA.

Try (for Outlook 2003)
    TOOLS-ACCOUNTS
    View or change existing...
    Check Deliver New Email is set to "Mailbox - User Name"

Tom
    Tom Jones
    MCT, MCSE (2000:Security & 2003), MCSA:Security & Messaging, MCDBA, MCDST, MCITP(EA, EMA, SA, EDA, ES, CS), MCTS, MCP, Sec+
    PhD, MSc, FIAP, MIITT
    IT Trainer / Consultant
    Ossian Ltd
    Scotland

** Remember to give credit where credit is due and leave reputation points where appropriate **

Comment

Also try to create a new OL profile. Another thing to try is to run OL with the /cleanrules switch to delete any server-side and client-side rules that might have gone bad.
      Cheers,

Daniel Petri
      Microsoft Most Valuable Professional - Active Directory Directory Services
      MCSA/E, MCTS, MCITP, MCT

Comment

Hi,

Sorry, Daniel, but I'm confused. I can't find anywhere in OWA where a user can specify to send data to a pst file.