Exchange server 2003 cannot be seen in "My Network Places"

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Exchange server 2003 cannot be seen in "My Network Places"

I'm a newbie administrator in Exchange 2003. My problem is the server cannot be seen when viewed in "My Network Places". I need this so I can share the resources of the Exchange server especially for backup purposes in Veritas. My officemate, our network admin adviced me to removed the server from the domain and then rejoin. I strongly disagree with his suggestion fearing this might cause severe damage to Exchange. What is the best way to solve this. Thank you very much.

Re: Exchange server 2003 cannot be seen in "My Network Places"

Removing the server from the domain will kill Exchange, so you should not do that.

Can you browse to the machine via \\servername ?

If you drop in to a command prompt and type

net view

can you see the machine in the list?

While I doubt if this will fix it, but also try the following command:

net config server /hidden:no

Simon.
    --
    Simon Butler
    Exchange MVP

Blog: http://blog.sembee.co.uk/
    More Exchange Content: http://exchange.sembee.info/
    Exchange Resources List: http://exbpa.com/
    In the UK? Hire me: http://www.sembee.co.uk/

Sembee is a registered trademark, used here with permission.

Comment

I tried to find the server using \\servername and also tried net view. Did not find it. I will try using the ntconfig command you suggested. Thanks.

Comment

Sorry to sound a bit harsh, but if your network admin suggested you remove an Exchange box from the domain and re-join it, I'd go for removing the sysadmin from work and making him re-write his CV...

See if the Computer Browser service is stopped in the server's services applet. If it is, start it.

If not, we need to get more info in order to try to help.