clustering exchange 2003

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• clustering exchange 2003

I am in the process of creating an EX cluster on my network. im not new to AD, but i am new to exchange and clustered servers... i took the 2400B course but it didnt touch very deeply on the clustering specs and prereqs

my plans for the exchange installation include a front end and an active/passive back end.

the a/p cluster have separate drives on a SANs for both the t-logs(L: ) and the mail stores(S: )... all on fiber. storage is not an issue, so more drives can be built in any RAID config nessasary.

i created the cluster this weekend, and inadvertently let it install the quorum on the L: drive that i had created for the t-logs. i have not yet installed exchange on any node as of yet.

i just have some questions about the quorum location... my understanding is that both the drives(L: and S: ) need to be empty before the exchange installation, and here i have gone installed the quorum data there...
    1. shoud i move the quorum data off the L: before the exchange install or can i leave them there? it looks pretty str8 forward with the cluster administration interface.. just point to a new location.
    2. should the quorum logs be on a separate drive from the OS? i assume they need to be accesable by all nodes on the cluster, right? where does everyone else put their quorum logs?
    3. how big will these q-logs get and what is their purpose? do they need to be backed up?

sorry for such newbish questions.. any suggestions and/or recommendations would be appreciated.
    its easier to beg forgiveness than ask permission.
    Give karma where karma is due...

Re: clustering exchange 2003

i hate answering my own questions (cause it makes me look lazy... ) but i figured some of it out so far. gotta love the knowledge base.

sorry to double post, i just wanted to be thorough.

http://technet2.microsoft.com/Window...b09801033.mspx