No announcement yet.

My Exchange Server is an open relay

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My Exchange Server is an open relay

I am no Exchange Expert, our server is running for a long time now but I recently found out, that it distributes SPAM mails.

After checking with mailradar open relay check I saw, that our server fails the tests 7, 8 and 14.

I found in this forum a similar problem and it recommended to check:
    www amset info / exchange / smtp-openrelay.asp

Unfortunately, my server settings are "correct":
    Server / Protokoll / SMTP / Virtueller Standardsver für SMTP
    Under "RELAY", I have set "only computer in the list below" + list is empty.

(2) Connectors, SMTP Connector
    Adress Space is "*" and relay is not ticked (allow relay of messages to this domain; this is translated)

I am using a GERMAN Small Business Server 2003; Exchange Server 6.5 Build 7638.2: SP2.

We are using a smarthost for sending Email and I have access to the logfiles of the smarthost. It shows the sending process of the spam mails, so it is not a display problem of the mailradar relay check, the SPAM mail really get sent.

The incoming mail comes from the internet, I verified this with wireshark.

Re: My Exchange Server is an open relay

I am still struggling with my SPAM sending server.
    After doing some more research, I found hints on the internet, that our SMTP server is misused with hacked account passwords.

I did the wireshark trace again and did not find an "AUTH" statement for the incoming (to be relayed) Email.

I get an
    then hello...

then: MAIL FROM: <[email protected]>
    then: 250 2.1.0 sender ok

this is ok, because any user can send me emails.

then: RCP TO: <[email protected]>
    then: 250 2.1.5 [email protected]

the user bla2 does not exist on my server. At this point - from my opinion, the relay should be stopped.

but then the client sends data until the server finally sends the confirmation with: