• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Clients Cannot see the public exchange folders

Hi all

im new to exchange features.
    I use exchange 2003 standard server.

I was asked to make some public folders on the exchange server.
    on those folders i have to put some contacts of my organization workers.
    all the clients on the company need to see those users contacts so they can mail them easy by using outlook 2000 //2002(xp) when they use New mail -->To ( and here they suposed to see the list).

so now:
    1> they can see the global group list of the active directory users list.
    2> they can't see any new contact lists added. except the built in offered by
    ou2000//ouXP.

I went to tricks and tips on the petri site (this site). and created new public folders. now the question is:

1> how i feel them with new contacts.
    2> how i make them visible to all clients.

thnx for any help.

Re: Clients Cannot see the public exchange folders

Kazza,

It seems that maybe you do not have the correct permissions set for the contacts to be seen. Also go to this website and it may help you with settings those permissions and making them visible.

http://www.msexchange.org/tutorials/MF018.html

HTH
    gaaq

Comment

Are you actually creating a public folder under, say, "All Public Folders", that can store Contact items? In that case, they won't appear in the GAL - you need to navigate to the folder in the Folder List in Outlook.

If you create an active directory Mail-enabled Contact, it can appear in the GAL.

Comment

in the GAL i can see the active directory users already.
        but i cant see any other added users that are not listed in A.D since they do not have accounts on our server. those are just contacts.

the problem was: how to make any new contacts to apear in the GAL.