Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Move Exchange edb to new domain

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Move Exchange edb to new domain

    Hi,

    I have a cunning plan, but wanted to see if anyone tell me it is a bad idea. I plan on running a test before performing the live migration anyway.

    My scenario is this:

    Current setup:

    Windows 2003 SBS at site A with a terminal server
    Workgroup at site B with people logging into the terminal server at site A

    The job is to install a new 2008 SBS server at site B with a new terminal server whilst the old server at site A will remain controlling the machines over there. Essentially the main/remote sites are swapping over.

    I can't do a migration as the old SBS server needs to stay online and downtime needs to be minimal so my plan is this:

    1) Shut down Exchange on the 2003 SBS.
    2) Copy the .edb files and take them to the 2008 site.
    3) At the 2008 site, I will have an Exchange 2003 Standard server attached to the SBS domain into which I can load the .edb files using LegacyDN to get them to match the new domain.
    4) Use the 2008 SBS server to migrate the mailboxes into Exchange 2007
    5) Decommission the Exchange 2003 Standard server.

    I've used legacydn in migrations before, but never where there destination 2003 server is attached to a 2007 environment.

    I'd rather not have to mess around with exporting and importing things. The other alternative is to attach an 2007 Exchange standard server to the Exchange 2003 SBS server and move that to the 2008 SBS but I've never used LegacyDN with 2007.

  • #2
    Re: Move Exchange edb to new domain

    If you have multiple sites, my suggestion would be that you have outgrown SBS and that it would be worth investigating a move to full-blown Windows Server and Exchange. As you're probably aware, you can have only one site with SBS and you can't have subdomains or trusts - the two SBS setups would have to be completely independant of each other.
    Gareth Howells

    BSc (Hons), MBCS, MCP, MCDST, ICCE

    Any advice is given in good faith and without warranty.

    Please give reputation points if somebody has helped you.

    "For by now I could have stretched out my hand and struck you and your people with a plague that would have wiped you off the Earth." (Exodus 9:15) - I could kill you with my thumb.

    "Everything that lives and moves will be food for you." (Genesis 9:3) - For every animal you don't eat, I'm going to eat three.

    Comment


    • #3
      Re: Move Exchange edb to new domain

      It isn't anything that grand. It is one of our clients and they have maybe 30 staff. SBS is fine as the original site will essentially be a handful of people logging into a terminal server..

      The old 2003 SBS server is not really going to be SBS any more. It is going to be a standalone domain controller to handle things like network antivirus and local logins but it has to remain up an running whilst the 2008 server is installed and beyond. There will be no link between the two other than the terminal server.

      As it stands, I haven't gotten very far. Installing Exchange 2003 on a 2003 Standard server attached to the new 2008 SBS domain has thrown out the following:

      Setup failed while installing sub-component Domain-level permissions with error code 0x80072030

      Exchange has installed but does not appear to be connected to the SBS server. I can't find anything on Google about bringing a new 2003 Exchange server into to an Exchange 2007 environment.

      Edit: The cause of the problem is that SBS 2008 puts "Exchange Domain Servers" and "Exchange Enterprise Servers" in the MyBusiness\Users\SBSUsers OU rather than simply the Users OU. Exchange 2003 seems to require the latter.

      If I move the users manually, I can do a setup /domainprep and install Exchange but I get a warning about needing to run setup /forestprep and that errors saying "A problem has been encoutered in the Microsoft Exchange Forest Preparation setup component. Canceling setup"

      So I've removed Exchange and tried again, same problem. Is it even possible to install Exchange 2003 as a second server to a 2008 SBS machine?
      I have removed Exchange 2003 and
      Last edited by beddo; 22nd March 2011, 18:14.

      Comment


      • #4
        Re: Move Exchange edb to new domain

        The other thought I had is, why buy SBS 2008 rather than 2011?
        Gareth Howells

        BSc (Hons), MBCS, MCP, MCDST, ICCE

        Any advice is given in good faith and without warranty.

        Please give reputation points if somebody has helped you.

        "For by now I could have stretched out my hand and struck you and your people with a plague that would have wiped you off the Earth." (Exodus 9:15) - I could kill you with my thumb.

        "Everything that lives and moves will be food for you." (Genesis 9:3) - For every animal you don't eat, I'm going to eat three.

        Comment


        • #5
          Re: Move Exchange edb to new domain

          You can't install Exchange 2003 in to an SBS 2008 domain.

          If you are using SBS 2008, then you can only install Exchange 2007 or higher. This is because of the way Exchange preps the domain.

          Therefore your plan isn't going to work.

          If you are going to cross forests, then your only option is to export to PST files and import them, with all of the headaches that brings.

          Simon.
          --
          Simon Butler
          Exchange MVP

          Blog: http://blog.sembee.co.uk/
          More Exchange Content: http://exchange.sembee.info/
          Exchange Resources List: http://exbpa.com/
          In the UK? Hire me: http://www.sembee.co.uk/

          Sembee is a registered trademark, used here with permission.

          Comment


          • #6
            Re: Move Exchange edb to new domain

            I thought as much from my tests yesterday.

            I was thinking of alternatives involving 2007 Exchange servers, but to be honest its creating a lot of fuss and probably losing any benefit over exmerge.

            Ahh well!

            Thanks.
            Last edited by beddo; 23rd March 2011, 11:13.

            Comment


            • #7
              Re: Move Exchange edb to new domain

              You would still be moving the databases to a different forest, which you can't do.
              Gareth Howells

              BSc (Hons), MBCS, MCP, MCDST, ICCE

              Any advice is given in good faith and without warranty.

              Please give reputation points if somebody has helped you.

              "For by now I could have stretched out my hand and struck you and your people with a plague that would have wiped you off the Earth." (Exodus 9:15) - I could kill you with my thumb.

              "Everything that lives and moves will be food for you." (Genesis 9:3) - For every animal you don't eat, I'm going to eat three.

              Comment


              • #8
                Re: Move Exchange edb to new domain

                Originally posted by gforceindustries View Post
                You would still be moving the databases to a different forest, which you can't do.
                Thanks for the reply but I've removed that bit of the post now. We have successfully moved the databases before with 2003 using LegacyDN to update the databases and it is possible. The documentation from the Swing kit shows how easy it is to do so but we only have old 2003 documentation.

                Comment


                • #9
                  Re: Move Exchange edb to new domain

                  If you are moving between Forests, then you need to update the X.500 address so that the imported email works.

                  http://blogs.technet.com/b/sbs/archi...migration.aspx

                  Although it does seem that you are complicating matters far more than is necessary. If a second site is being brought online, then I would be looking at dropping SBS because you have outgrown it, and introducing standard edition of Exchange. This will allow you to move the data across natively, no significant period of downtime and generally everything will work much better.

                  Simon.
                  --
                  Simon Butler
                  Exchange MVP

                  Blog: http://blog.sembee.co.uk/
                  More Exchange Content: http://exchange.sembee.info/
                  Exchange Resources List: http://exbpa.com/
                  In the UK? Hire me: http://www.sembee.co.uk/

                  Sembee is a registered trademark, used here with permission.

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Re: Move Exchange edb to new domain

                    Originally posted by Sembee View Post
                    If you are moving between Forests, then you need to update the X.500 address so that the imported email works.

                    http://blogs.technet.com/b/sbs/archi...migration.aspx
                    That is an interesting one. As I mentioned, we have moved several .edb files using legacydn in the past and never had to modify and X.500 addresses. I imagine this is because we have created new users and connected the old mailboxes to the new users rather than trying to migrate anything else. I'll keep that handy in case we find it crops up though, thanks.

                    Although it does seem that you are complicating matters far more than is necessary. If a second site is being brought online, then I would be looking at dropping SBS because you have outgrown it, and introducing standard edition of Exchange. This will allow you to move the data across natively, no significant period of downtime and generally everything will work much better.
                    We are not bringing a second site online. It is essentially an upgrade from 2003 SBS to 2008 SBS along with moving the users to a different site. There will be less than 5 people left at the old site who will be doing a bit of work via Terminal Services.

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Re: Move Exchange edb to new domain

                      So why aren't you doing a standard migration of SBS and then moving the server? It just seems you are causing significant amounts of complication for no real gain.

                      Simon.
                      --
                      Simon Butler
                      Exchange MVP

                      Blog: http://blog.sembee.co.uk/
                      More Exchange Content: http://exchange.sembee.info/
                      Exchange Resources List: http://exbpa.com/
                      In the UK? Hire me: http://www.sembee.co.uk/

                      Sembee is a registered trademark, used here with permission.

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        Re: Move Exchange edb to new domain

                        Because we don't want to have any effect on the old SBS server as it will be remaining in place.

                        The only option after a migration would be to wipe the old server and redo the network at the first site which is additional work.

                        We have the new servers on site at the second office now so we're going to arrange some downtime where the application people do their bit and we can export/import the Outlook data at the same time.

                        Thanks for all the replies.

                        Comment

                        Working...
                        X