MS2003SBS Exchange 2003 Sp2 client changing ISP and Domain Hosting MX help

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• MS2003SBS Exchange 2003 Sp2 client changing ISP and Domain Hosting MX help

I'm just learning exchange under fire. My client has change ISP providers so I have to change the Wan settings on my router they are also changing hosts. Does the host or ISP create a MX record pointing to my new address and do I also do this in exchange. I have no problem working with SBS and Cisco routers. I'm reading around the clock everything I can find on exchange. Also, should the domain hosting happen over a weekend when company is closed because of time it may take for the new MX record to be posted. Do I also have to change the A record?
    Thank you in advance,
    Michael Warren

Re: MS2003SBS Exchange 2003 Sp2 client changing ISP and Domain Hosting MX help

you need to create an A record to resolve to the ip of your exhange server.

the sending server will perform an mx lookup so it knows where to deliver mail.

examples:

A records = mail.domain.com (sometimes just enter mail within your hosting panel as some tag the domain on) x.x.x.x

mx records = 10 mail.domain.com x.x.x.x
    = 20 mail2.domain.com x.x.x.x (another I.P should the first one be unavailable)

A good tool to help check with records is Mxtoolbox.com The ttl setting will determine when public dns check these records are still valid and usually update within a few hours.

Comment

Should the A point to the WAN side IP address and not the private? If it's the private and my XChange is on My DC, then that would not change. I guess I'm asking should I use the WAN static address given to my Gateway router in the A record?
      Thank you for the quick response. I did find the site you mentioned previously and intend to use that before I make any changes on the DC. I've also downloaded smtpdiag which is a great tool for me to figure out "Whose on First?"
      Mike

Comment