No announcement yet.

Exchange 2003/DC subnet change

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Exchange 2003/DC subnet change

I don't even know where to start. I am very very new to all of this.

We had a firewall crash (hardware failure) which is out of warrenty (by days), so to replace the exact device to reload the config backups is finacially out of the question at this time. So to temporarily make due I am trying to reroute everything through our netopia dsl router. Here is where my issues begin.

The DC/Exchange server(Win2k3 Server R2 fully updated) is the dns/dhcp server on subnet. Our Public IP routes to the Netopia DSL Router( which then changes this ip to and this traffic goes to our firewall( which then changes the ip to the domain controller/exchange server.
    (maybe changes is the wrong word route may be better and i apologize for any misunderstandings)

without the firewall there i attempted to change all the dns for the exchange server to send and receive mail based on the ip

I set the netopia as the dns server on the DC, and assigned all pc's on this network to the same subnet, they are all now able to access the internet, authenticate to the network and send mail, although no mail will come into the server.

i used this hxxp:// online port scanner to verify connectability to smtp 25. I am also able to connect via remote desktop to my dc/exchange server using the public IP. I have checked and changed everything google has told me to do for the past 4-5 hours. If there is any information i can provide that i neglected to include please ask as i would like to resolve this as soon as possible.

It appears that although the port is open, once you try to connect via telnet i get the following:

[email protected] ~ $ telnet 25
    Connected to
    Escape character is '^]'.
    Connection closed by foreign host.