No announcement yet.

A few Exchange Q's - SMTP Relay and Smarthost

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A few Exchange Q's - SMTP Relay and Smarthost

Hi all,

I am an undergraduate and to help me with our course we have been given evaluation copies of Server 2003 and Exchange 2003. I have set it up, fully updated and service packs and have configured Outlook with a user which connected.

However, before I open up to the world to test sending and receiving, I want to check a few things.

1) I have heard of open-relays and such as I don't want the server to be used as an Open Relay for spam, obviously - is Exchange automatically setup to block without Windows authentication? I.e only a user with a logon and mailbox on that server can use it to send mail? If not and I need to close/secure it, how do I do this?

2) As I am running this from home, I will need to use my ISP's SMTP Server as a Smarthost (my ISP is Virginmedia, ex-NTLWorld so I'll be using - how do I configure this? I can not find any guides online (maybe I am looking for something different than what I am searching for, I dont know.)

Any help would be appreciated

Re: A few Exchange Q's - SMTP Relay and Smarthost

First lesson students should always be taught is the wonders of because the first hit for "Exchange 2003 Open Relay" is from our fearless leader.

This link will help you with the smart host part.
    BSc, MCSA: Server 2008, MCSE, MCSA: Messaging, MCTS
    Cruachan's Blog

Thanks for the reply cruachan

I did look at that link, but what threw me was the following:

You must understand what will happen if you choose to clear the "Anonymous access" check box in the Authentication window of the SMTP Virtual Server. Although this will indeed successfully stop your server from being a relay, on the other hand it will cause your server to stop receiving incoming mail from the Internet.