Stand alone e-mail server

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Stand alone e-mail server

Hello: I am new to exchange server. Inherited the job of maintaining our SBS 2003 system. We are currently using web hosted e-mail but the company wants to set up exchange as a stand-alone e-mail server so we can host our own e-mail. Can someone point me in the right direction as to where I can find documentation/manuals on this. Thanks in advance

Re: Stand alone e-mail server

SBS 2003 comes with Exchange and you can install it on the server as part of the normal add/remove.
    Could you describe a bit more about what you mean by stand alone though? Do you not want it part of your SBS domain?
    cheers
    Andy

Please read this before you post:

Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?

Comment

strtline, i spent the bette rpart of this year working on our exchange server to understand how to do this.

best thing ican sugegst would be to read through some of the mspress exchange 2003 books, then setup your exchange server correctly.
      run some rbl tests, ensur you have imf enabled and anti-spam engines.

then change your mx records to point to your new server.
      ensure you have port 25 open on your firewall directing to the server

that's a basic guideline..
      Please do show your appreciation to those who assist you by leaving Rep Point https://www.petri.com/forums/core/im.../icon_beer.gif

Comment

Maybe stand-alone is not the best choice of words. Currently the company is using a web host to host our e-mail. We understand that we can setup exchange s that we can host our own e-mail and not require outside e-mail hosting. This is what I am trying to configure. Thanks

Comment

Hi,
          Here is what Google returns: http://www.google.co.uk/search?hl=en...SBS+2003&meta=

Any of those good?
          Caesar's cipher - 3

ZKHQ BRX HYHQWXDOOB GHFLSKHU WKLV BRX ZLOO UHDOLVH LW ZDV D ZDVWH RI WLPH!

SFX JNRS FC U6 MNGR

Comment