Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Exchange 2003 migration to new server but keeping same SAN

Hi Everyone-

I inherited an Exchange server some time ago in my company and have now been assigned the task of migrating our existing single server Exchange install over to newer and better hardware. I have never done a migration before and in all honestly, my Exchange skills are fairly rudimentary compared with some of the real experts on this forum.

Our mail stores reside on SAN attached storage so my initial impression is that this migration should be simpler than some of the scenarios I've found in my research. Although I am still wary and unfortunately cannot find too much information describing the steps for my scenario.

We would like to keep the same server name so I imagine for the first part of the setup I will be following the steps described in:

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa997176(EXCHG.65).aspx

But I will not have to restore storage groups since I will just attach the LUN's to the new server. But how about the SRS database? Will I need to restore that from tape. And are there any other implications or things that I need to watch out for.

Please excuse my ignorance if this is a basic and straight-forward procedure. But I must tread lightly and ensure success since I will be doing this on a live production environment.

Thanks for any insight that anyone can provide.

Re: Exchange 2003 migration to new server but keeping same SAN

Do you have any Exchange 5.5 sites linked to your Exchange 2003 Organization? If not then there isn't any SRS database and you can proceed with the instructions in the MS article. I've used this method several times and not had any issues. Make sure to follow the steps exactly and in order.

Comment

Originally posted by joeqwerty View Post