Recipient doesn't receive attachments, others do

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Recipient doesn't receive attachments, others do

Hello to all. First things first, I've visited this site quite often since starting my network admin job and this site has proven quite useful in the past. This is my first time posting so bear with me here.

We have an Exchange 2003 machine running on SBS2003. One of our recipients has issues receiving attachments sent from an external source. For example, an email came in this morning where it was sent to 3 of our users, all of them in the same Exchange organization, server and storage group. The problematic user didn't receive the attachment while the other two got the attachment with no issues. One of them forwarded the email to the problematic user who received the attachment and was able to open it.

I checked the tracking center but everything seems fine.

I should also mention that the attachments are mostly PDF files. The emails sent from the source also include a TXT file (disclaimer) that comes in fine. Just the PDF is getting removed. I checked our firewall (that does SPAM/Virus filtering) and nothing is getting blocked; the other recipients are getting the attachment after all.

I'd be greatful if anyone can help.

TIA

Re: Recipient doesn't receive attachments, others do

Usually it is worth checking client AV/AS, Exchange AV/AS and OWA for the user. Uninstall of AV/AS is usually a required test rather than disabling as this doesn't always truly disable the software.
    cheers
    Andy

Please read this before you post:

Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?

Comment

Thanks but I don't think it's the AV. We have a centrally managed AV solution and everyone has the same configuration forced onto their machines. Just to be sure, I looked at the logs for the AV server and the ones on the user's computer. Nothing was ever blocked.

Comment