Enable TLS On Exchange 2003 With Specific Customers

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Enable TLS On Exchange 2003 With Specific Customers

I've had to do a lot of self-taught Exchange administration over the years, but I'm stumped with this last request.

We've been asked by a customer to enable TLS between us and them for secure email communications.

I read through MS KB articles 829721 and 823019, as well as posts on the Exchange Team Blog, searched these Forums, and trundled off down the many nooks and crannies that embedded links take me.

The end result being that I think I understand the basics but am having trouble getting my head around the implementation.

For starters, the customer doesn't use Exchange as their email system. Not sure what they have really, but they say it does support TLS, and considering their size, I would tend to believe they know what they are saying.

Second, we only have a single Exchange box. No Front-End/Back-End stuff. It's just a straight forward dual-homed server sitting behind our firewall.

So... Assuming these steps are a given:

1) Add a new public IP address.
    2) Change the default SMTP VS to use just the old IP address.
    3) Create a new SMTP VS to use the new IP address.
    4) Buy a certificate from a reputable CA and install it on the new SMTP VS.
    5) Setup the new SMTP VS properties for TLS.
    6) Create a new SMTP Connector, using the new SMTP VS as the bridgehead.
    7) Add the customer email domain to the new SMTP Connector.

This brings up several questions:

1) Do I need a seperate public IP address for every customer who wants TLS?
    2) What changes need to be made in our ISP DNS for A and MX records?
    3) Do I really need to open port 465, or will TLS work through 25 as usual?
    4) Are there other changes to ensure that secure emails get to our mailboxes?

Any help or direction would be appreciated. Thanks.

Re: Enable TLS On Exchange 2003 With Specific Customers

Hare Krsna,