Restore from NTBackup

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Restore from NTBackup

I am new to exchange and currently practicing backing up and restoring exchange 2003 so that I am ready if I need to do this in the real world. I am using ntbackup, but it isn't working the way I expected. Here is the scenario I am trying: User1 sends email to User2 on Monday. Monday night NTBackup runs normal backup successfully on exchange. Tuesday morning User2 deletes said email from inbox and deleted items. Tuesday afternoon User2 realizes they need that email, so i restore exchange from monday nights backup, however once the restore is completed, the email isn't back in his inbox. I was expecting the restore to put exchange back to exactly how it was on Monday night when it was backed up. Is this not the case? Am I missing something?

Re: Restore from NTBackup

Where are you restoring it to?
    cheers
    Andy

Please read this before you post:

Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?

Comment

restoring it to the same server. obviously this isn't something you would do in the real world, but i am more or less playing around to see how the restores work

Comment

For this you would normally use the recovery storage group. Did you look at the restore logs at all?
        cheers
        Andy

Comment

1)After reading about the recovery storage group, yes i agree I would need to use that method.

2)Didn't read any logs, not sure what ones to look at and where they would exist.

3)Agreeing that I would need to use the recovery storage group for my scenario, I am still curious as to why my restore (which completed successfully) doesn't reflect the exchange database from the time of backup.

Comment

The log will probably show you the restore failed.
            The DBs are mounted and likely not overwritable with a restore.

I don't remember where the default logs are stored, setup a new job and I'm sure it says there, if not google gave me this.