Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Unable to apply rus to domain.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Unable to apply rus to domain.

    Hello.
    I'm having a bit of trouble applying my rus to my default domain. I have applied this but it's not working at all. I don't get any error messages either.
    What I did is create a new recepiient policy @company.com and then set that mail address as the primary.
    Then I went to the receipent update service and tried update now and rebuild.
    Nothing seems to do anything.
    I've also rebooted and tried restarting all the services. My new rus isn't showing as the new default address in exchange aduc.
    Any help would be appriciated. Thanks.
    Please remember to award reputation points if you have received good advice.
    I do tend to think 'outside the box' so others may not always share the same views.

    MCITP -W7,
    MCSA+Messaging, CCENT, ICND2 slowly getting around to.

  • #2
    Re: Unable to apply rus to domain.

    Turn up the logging, is everything else healthy to your knowledge? DCDiag ok etc?
    This would be a good starting point.

    http://www.msexchange.org/articles/T...rvice-RUS.html
    cheers
    Andy

    Please read this before you post:


    Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?

    Comment


    • #3
      Re: Unable to apply rus to domain.

      Hi, i've tried to follow it the best that i can.
      I'm getting lots of events 8012 and 8011's which are:

      event id 8012
      Search of directory dc01.skynet.local at base 'DC=skynet,DC=local' returned 0 objects.

      event id 8012
      Search of directory dc01.skynet.local at base 'CN=Recipient Update Services,CN=Address Lists Container,CN=skynet,CN=Microsoft Exchange,CN=Services,CN=Configuration,DC=skynet,DC =local' returned 0 objects.


      event id 8011
      Searching directory dc01.skynet.local at base 'DC=skynet,DC=local' using filter '(&(USNChanged>=90167)(uSNChanged<=90166)((objectc lass=*)))' and requesting attributes distinguishedName; objectGUID; LegacyExchangeDN; msExchADCGlobalNames; ObjectSID; ObjectClass; objectCategory; displayName; msExchHideFromAddressLists; hideDLMembership; ntsecuritydescriptor; showInAdvancedViewOnly; msExchALObjectVersion; showInAddressBook; msExchPolicyEnabled; givenName; sn; cn; mailNickname; targetAddress; initials; proxyAddresses; mail; textEncodedORAddress; msExchHomeServerName; msExchExpansionServerName; msExchCustomProxyAddresses; msExchPoliciesIncluded; msExchPoliciesExcluded; replPropertyMetaData; replicatedObjectVersion; ReplicationSignature; WhenChanged; WhenCreated; USNchanged; USNcreated; ObjectVersion; isDeleted; homeMDB; homeMTA; msExchMailboxGuid; msExchMailboxSecurityDescriptor; msExchResourceGUID; UserAccountControl; msExchUserAccountControl.


      As said on the site you posted, I added the exchange server computer account to the Exchange Enterprise Servers group. The account for this group is already in the exchange domain servers group, which is nested in the exchange enterprise servers group. so if i manually add the account for dc01 to the enterprise servers group then it just disappears out of the group.

      Any suggestions? Thanks.
      Please remember to award reputation points if you have received good advice.
      I do tend to think 'outside the box' so others may not always share the same views.

      MCITP -W7,
      MCSA+Messaging, CCENT, ICND2 slowly getting around to.

      Comment


      • #4
        Re: Unable to apply rus to domain.

        could this be a permissions issue?
        Please remember to award reputation points if you have received good advice.
        I do tend to think 'outside the box' so others may not always share the same views.

        MCITP -W7,
        MCSA+Messaging, CCENT, ICND2 slowly getting around to.

        Comment


        • #5
          Re: Unable to apply rus to domain.

          I suspect that this is my fix. But I am unsure of what to do next.

          When the search returns zero objects (and you are certain there should be some); this usually indicates a permissions error. In this case the Exchange server computer account does not have the correct permissions required to view user objects. In order to view user objects, the Exchange server needs to be part of the Exchange Enterprise Servers group.
          Please remember to award reputation points if you have received good advice.
          I do tend to think 'outside the box' so others may not always share the same views.

          MCITP -W7,
          MCSA+Messaging, CCENT, ICND2 slowly getting around to.

          Comment


          • #6
            Re: Unable to apply rus to domain.

            Sorry, having a nightmare day... 3 weeks holiday and.. well I'm sure you don't care

            Can you tell us more about the setup. How many exchange, how old is it, service packs, sites etc. Can you run DCDiag as well and post it.
            Any 8270 errors on the Exchange servers as well?
            What does the BPA show?
            cheers
            Andy

            Please read this before you post:


            Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?

            Comment


            • #7
              Re: Unable to apply rus to domain.

              haha, i hope that you enjoyed your holiday, thanks for the help with this.

              I have 2 exchange 2k3 sp2 servers. Single site connected by high speed connections.
              there are no 8270 errors.

              exchange bpa shows this:
              Recipient Update Service 'Recipient Update Service (SKYNET)' was configured to perform a full rebuild at 2008-09-17T13:42:49Z. This may cause a delay when processing new objects.

              dcdiag
              Domain Controller Diagnosis

              Performing initial setup:
              Done gathering initial info.

              Doing initial required tests

              Testing server: Default-First-Site-Name\DC01
              Starting test: Connectivity
              ......................... DC01 passed test Connectivity

              Doing primary tests

              Testing server: Default-First-Site-Name\DC01
              Starting test: Replications
              [Replications Check,DC01] A recent replication attempt failed:
              From DC02 to DC01
              Naming Context: CN=Schema,CN=Configuration,DC=skynet,DC=local
              The replication generated an error (1722):
              The RPC server is unavailable.
              The failure occurred at 2008-09-17 15:55:17.
              The last success occurred at 2008-09-17 14:54:36.
              1 failures have occurred since the last success.
              The source DC02 is responding now.
              ......................... DC01 passed test Replications
              Starting test: NCSecDesc
              ......................... DC01 passed test NCSecDesc
              Starting test: NetLogons
              ......................... DC01 passed test NetLogons
              Starting test: Advertising
              ......................... DC01 passed test Advertising
              Starting test: KnowsOfRoleHolders
              ......................... DC01 passed test KnowsOfRoleHolders
              Starting test: RidManager
              ......................... DC01 passed test RidManager
              Starting test: MachineAccount
              ......................... DC01 passed test MachineAccount
              Starting test: Services
              ......................... DC01 passed test Services
              Starting test: ObjectsReplicated
              ......................... DC01 passed test ObjectsReplicated
              Starting test: frssysvol
              ......................... DC01 passed test frssysvol
              Starting test: frsevent
              There are warning or error events within the last 24 hours after the
              SYSVOL has been shared. Failing SYSVOL replication problems may cause
              Group Policy problems.
              ......................... DC01 failed test frsevent
              Starting test: kccevent
              ......................... DC01 passed test kccevent
              Starting test: systemlog
              An Error Event occured. EventID: 0xC0002719
              Time Generated: 09/17/2008 16:14:24
              (Event String could not be retrieved)
              ......................... DC01 failed test systemlog
              Starting test: VerifyReferences
              ......................... DC01 passed test VerifyReferences

              Running partition tests on : ForestDnsZones
              Starting test: CrossRefValidation
              ......................... ForestDnsZones passed test CrossRefValidation

              Starting test: CheckSDRefDom
              ......................... ForestDnsZones passed test CheckSDRefDom

              Running partition tests on : DomainDnsZones
              Starting test: CrossRefValidation
              ......................... DomainDnsZones passed test CrossRefValidation

              Starting test: CheckSDRefDom
              ......................... DomainDnsZones passed test CheckSDRefDom

              Running partition tests on : Schema
              Starting test: CrossRefValidation
              ......................... Schema passed test CrossRefValidation
              Starting test: CheckSDRefDom
              ......................... Schema passed test CheckSDRefDom

              Running partition tests on : Configuration
              Starting test: CrossRefValidation
              ......................... Configuration passed test CrossRefValidation
              Starting test: CheckSDRefDom
              ......................... Configuration passed test CheckSDRefDom

              Running partition tests on : skynet
              Starting test: CrossRefValidation
              ......................... skynet passed test CrossRefValidation
              Starting test: CheckSDRefDom
              ......................... skynet passed test CheckSDRefDom

              Running enterprise tests on : skynet.local
              Starting test: Intersite
              ......................... skynet.local passed test Intersite
              Starting test: FsmoCheck
              ......................... skynet.local passed test FsmoCheck
              Please remember to award reputation points if you have received good advice.
              I do tend to think 'outside the box' so others may not always share the same views.

              MCITP -W7,
              MCSA+Messaging, CCENT, ICND2 slowly getting around to.

              Comment


              • #8
                Re: Unable to apply rus to domain.

                If you've turned up the logging, what shows in the event log when you try a rebuild/update?
                cheers
                Andy

                Please read this before you post:


                Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?

                Comment


                • #9
                  Re: Unable to apply rus to domain.

                  hey AndyJG247 I've fixed it now. I did it at 6am today when i was wired off coffee.
                  Thanks for all your support with this.

                  Before I managed to fix it I made it considerably worse using adsi edit.
                  I deleted all the previous attempts and set it back to not having anything to update
                  (through EXBPA)
                  Then i used adsi edit to force a replication of the rus service. I don't think it did anything tho.

                  I fixed it by going into the properties of my rus policy and adding in company.com making it default and deleting company.local
                  i did this with the default policy and the new one that i added in.
                  seems to be working fine now.
                  also i've somehow managed to have deleted the receipient update service for the enterprise, i have the one for the domain so it doesn't matter too much.

                  thanks for your assistance.
                  Please remember to award reputation points if you have received good advice.
                  I do tend to think 'outside the box' so others may not always share the same views.

                  MCITP -W7,
                  MCSA+Messaging, CCENT, ICND2 slowly getting around to.

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Re: Unable to apply rus to domain.

                    hey AndyJG247 I've fixed it now. I did it at 6am today when i was wired off coffee.
                    Thanks for all your support with this.

                    Before I managed to fix it I made it considerably worse using adsi edit.
                    I deleted all the previous attempts and set it back to not having anything to update
                    (through EXBPA)
                    Then i used adsi edit to force a replication of the rus service. I don't think it did anything tho.

                    I fixed it by going into the properties of my rus policy and adding in company.com making it default and deleting company.local
                    i did this with the default policy and the new one that i added in.
                    seems to be working fine now.
                    also i've somehow managed to have deleted the receipient update service for the enterprise, i have the one for the domain so it doesn't matter too much.

                    thanks for your assistance.
                    Please remember to award reputation points if you have received good advice.
                    I do tend to think 'outside the box' so others may not always share the same views.

                    MCITP -W7,
                    MCSA+Messaging, CCENT, ICND2 slowly getting around to.

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Re: Unable to apply rus to domain.

                      Hmm not sure what that would do... ADSIEdit is very powerful, if this is a prod environment I would be tempted to spend the money and speak to MS. In fact, not tempted, I would do it but that is up to you.

                      If it is working at the moment then good in the interim!
                      cheers
                      Andy

                      Please read this before you post:


                      Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?

                      Comment

                      Working...
                      X