Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Active Sync Motorola Q = error 85010014

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Active Sync Motorola Q = error 85010014

    Hello word!
    First of, thank you for this site it has been a great resource and most valuable bookmark
    I am aware of active sync pains as I have been fighting with this thing for months now and no luck. Unfortunately all I have at disposal is Motorola Q and where the whole problem may be. Never the less,
    here is the setup:
    - Back End
    win2003 Ent + E2k3 Ent

    - Front End
    win2003 Standar + E2k3 St.

    - Firewall is open 80 & 433

    - I am using SSL from godady and form authentication is enabled on front end server (so no need for vdir and reg tweaks right?)
    - I can browse https://server/oma as well as https://server/owa
    - I have installed the cert on the phone (using verizon)
    - Updated to latest active sync 4.5
    - Phone syncs up when plugged into the pc

    - Mail flows, life is good except for the &%^# active sync and nothing strange int he log files on the FE.

    -I have attempted to smart phone 2003 sdk to test things out but the requirement is embedded visual C++ 4.0 - which strangely (or not) requires a product ID = dead end.

    -I have also tried not using the SSL (but doesn't this beat the purpose of secure?) and wondered of into set of other errors. Unfortunately my access to motorla Q is limited (manager's) and only during 9-5 not to mention disruption of service so I can not have SSL and form authentication removed "for testing purposes". Not to mention that I had to rebuild the OWA/OMA due to my 'testing'.


    At this point my last tools of choice seems to be the hammer in my toolbox.

    Any of the gurus have advice I would really appreciate it.
    Thanks for your time!!!

  • #2
    Re: Active Sync Motorola Q = error 85010014

    I don't know why you were trying to use the SDK. The emulator is standalone. I would start with that to begin with. You need the emulator, the images for either Windows Mobile 5 or 6 and then Virtual PC to provide the networking stack.

    I would be lost without the emulator.

    On a fe/be you should not need to do any registry changes etc. However do ensure that they haven't been made in the past. On the backend server ensure that on the /exchange virtual directory integrated authentication is enabled and require SSL is NOT enabled.

    Simon.
    --
    Simon Butler
    Exchange MVP

    Blog: http://blog.sembee.co.uk/
    More Exchange Content: http://exchange.sembee.info/
    Exchange Resources List: http://exbpa.com/
    In the UK? Hire me: http://www.sembee.co.uk/

    Sembee is a registered trademark, used here with permission.

    Comment


    • #3
      Re: Active Sync Motorola Q = error 85010014

      Hi Sembee,
      Thanks for help and reply.
      Would you mind linking me to an emulator that you use? I ended up on SDK as someone on the http://www.msexchange.org/ forums suggested it....

      Here is the setup breakdown from IIS:
      -----------BE and FE--------
      /exchange
      -integrated and basic checked only while domain is entered (not the FQDN just the logon domain of "ABC")
      - no ssl requirement (ignore client cert)

      /oma
      -the same as 'exchange' folder difference being that default domain is "\"
      -------------------------

      Still strange that I would have to 'not require ssl'....what is the point if it is not enforced?

      Anyhow, sorry if my questions are silly this is my first attempt at active sync and it has been...well as you see

      Thanks a bunch!!!

      Comment


      • #4
        Re: Active Sync Motorola Q = error 85010014

        I have details on the Windows Mobile emulator on my web site.
        http://www.amset.info/pocketpc/emulator.asp

        The SDK was the only way you could get the emulator a few years ago, but Microsoft have had standalone images for some time.

        What I tend to do when Exchange ActiveSync doesn't work is reset the virtual directories on both servers. http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?kbid=883380

        Once you have things back to the default settings then test it again.

        Simon.
        --
        Simon Butler
        Exchange MVP

        Blog: http://blog.sembee.co.uk/
        More Exchange Content: http://exchange.sembee.info/
        Exchange Resources List: http://exbpa.com/
        In the UK? Hire me: http://www.sembee.co.uk/

        Sembee is a registered trademark, used here with permission.

        Comment


        • #5
          Re: Active Sync Motorola Q = error 85010014

          Thanks Sembee,
          Much obliged.
          The moment or day I get a chance for the downtime of servers will try to reset it all and report back. Also, thanks for the links and keeping your site going as I have surly bookmarked it many months ago.
          Thank you!

          Comment


          • #6
            Re: Active Sync Motorola Q = error 85010014

            Hey Simon,
            I followed the method#1 from http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?kbid=883380
            and all went well. https://site.com/OWA and https://site.com/OMA are still accessible but unfortunately still getting the same error on the phone.
            I have attempted to use the emulator and it has returned the error code of 0x85002003 which indicates the network issues - I am sure it is due to my emulator setup since the Motorola still returns the original code of 85010014.
            ....
            Thanks for the help!

            Comment


            • #7
              Re: Active Sync Motorola Q = error 85010014

              While you are getting network issues on the emulator it isn't a valid test.
              You do need to ensure that you have setup the emulator correctly, with the network interface enabled and the device getting an IP address. However as the emulator can only use your internal network then you may need a split DNS system to ensure that everything resolves correctly.

              The error code that you are getting is an authentication error. Did you reset the virtual directories on both the frontend and the backend server? Have you ensured that there are no SSL certificates on the backend server?

              Simon.
              --
              Simon Butler
              Exchange MVP

              Blog: http://blog.sembee.co.uk/
              More Exchange Content: http://exchange.sembee.info/
              Exchange Resources List: http://exbpa.com/
              In the UK? Hire me: http://www.sembee.co.uk/

              Sembee is a registered trademark, used here with permission.

              Comment


              • #8
                Re: Active Sync Motorola Q = error 85010014

                Hello again,
                I did some more testing and now my emulator is reporting the same code of 0x85010014. I can only assume networking is setup ok since I was able to browse my local file server and grab the cert of it - after I authenticated/logged in.

                Also, both FE and BE virtual directories were reset according to that MS document.
                BE server does not have a cert installed or required for OMA folder while FE does.

                Which virtual directories are actually involved in ActiveSynch and what settings should they have?

                Because now after the reset the settings on OMA FE and BE are NOT the same.
                OMA vdir on FE has Basic auth. only with Required SSL (default domain of "ABC")
                while
                OMA vdir on BE Integrated and Basic auth. and no SSL requirements (default domain of "\")

                Thanks again for the help...

                Comment


                • #9
                  Re: Active Sync Motorola Q = error 85010014

                  This

                  "OMA vdir on FE has Basic auth. only with Required SSL (default domain of "ABC")"

                  Is not what I would have expected after a folder reset. Therefore I have to doubt if the folder reset was done correctly, or settings are being sent down from the virtual server itself.

                  I have never seen a folder reset enable require SSL except on SBS, and I have never seen it set the default domain.

                  The OMA virtual directory has nothing to do with Exchange ActiveSync. EAS uses the /exchange virtual directory and the /Microsoft-Server-ActiveSync virtual directory.

                  Simon.
                  --
                  Simon Butler
                  Exchange MVP

                  Blog: http://blog.sembee.co.uk/
                  More Exchange Content: http://exchange.sembee.info/
                  Exchange Resources List: http://exbpa.com/
                  In the UK? Hire me: http://www.sembee.co.uk/

                  Sembee is a registered trademark, used here with permission.

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Re: Active Sync Motorola Q = error 85010014

                    Hi Simon,
                    Well, I don't know what to say my man....it behaved as if it did reset. It took just about 1min or less for the folders to be recreated after the service was restarted.

                    I imagine that settings are being inherited from "default web site" folder as the the root of it all...but the ms doc says nothing about touching this folder or resting prior to removing the vdirs under it.
                    Any suggestions?
                    Thanks a million!

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Re: Active Sync Motorola Q = error 85010014

                      I can only suggest that you check those settings are not set, or unset them on the root of the default web site and then reset the folders again. Certainly those two settings if they are being forced down on to the virtual directories would cause a problem. EAS uses integrated authentication for example, so basic would break it.

                      Simon.
                      --
                      Simon Butler
                      Exchange MVP

                      Blog: http://blog.sembee.co.uk/
                      More Exchange Content: http://exchange.sembee.info/
                      Exchange Resources List: http://exbpa.com/
                      In the UK? Hire me: http://www.sembee.co.uk/

                      Sembee is a registered trademark, used here with permission.

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        Re: Active Sync Motorola Q = error 85010014

                        Hmm by that token setting the /Exchange and /ActiveSync folders manually to just integrated should work but it doesn't and it breaks my OWA. I am worried about clicking back and forth of these settings will leave security holes as I am pretty confident of settings for OWA and SSL being correct...as I based of msexchange.org and this site's articles and jim mcbee's...unless there is an inherit issue and I was just getting lucky so far.

                        I wonder if this article applies or if it is too old.....I am reaching for straws
                        Thanks Simon!

                        Comment


                        • #13
                          Re: Active Sync Motorola Q = error 85010014

                          Changing them to just integrated shouldn't break OWA. It could cause problems with clients outside the firewall, as some firewalls will break integrated authentication.

                          However it is not an either/or setting. You can have both integrated and basic integration enabled.

                          The setting in that article will not do any harm. The authentication settings can get in a mess, which is why I usually recommend a folder reset - which usually resolves most problems.

                          Simon.
                          --
                          Simon Butler
                          Exchange MVP

                          Blog: http://blog.sembee.co.uk/
                          More Exchange Content: http://exchange.sembee.info/
                          Exchange Resources List: http://exbpa.com/
                          In the UK? Hire me: http://www.sembee.co.uk/

                          Sembee is a registered trademark, used here with permission.

                          Comment


                          • #14
                            Re: Active Sync Motorola Q = error 85010014

                            Ok...I have tried tried this again by clearing out the settings at the root.

                            ----===FE & BE===----
                            +Default Web Site (root dir)
                            ~Anonymous and Integrated where checked on
                            ~Removed Default Domain value of "ABC"
                            ~Removed the requirement for SSL
                            ~Did the MS article above for reset.

                            Result:
                            /MS Active Sync folderrecreated came back with settings of JUST having:
                            ~Basic Authentication checked (wtf?)
                            ~Default Domain already entered as "ABC" (wtf?)
                            ~No SSL requirements (ok)

                            /Exchange folder
                            ~Basic Authentication checked (wtf?)
                            ~Default domain of "\" (wtf?)
                            ~No SSL requirements (ok)

                            OMA and OWA working fine....
                            on http://BE_and_FE_server/Microsoft-Server-ActiveSync
                            getting
                            HTTP/1.1 501 Not Implemented ...apparently a "good sign"

                            ----========----

                            Same 85010014 code....another patch of hair missing...

                            Thanks again!
                            Last edited by lebisol; 30th August 2008, 01:10.

                            Comment


                            • #15
                              Re: Active Sync Motorola Q = error 85010014

                              Those settings are not correct, so something else is interfering with them.
                              If this is a frontend server I know what I would be looking to do about now - and that is remove Exchange using add/remove programs then dropping the machine out of the domain and rebuilding it from scratch. As far as I am concerned frontend serves are disposable.

                              Rebuild the server, remember that if your backend server went RTM, SP1, SP2 (rather than straight from RTM to SP2) then you need to do the same thing with the frontend server. Patch it, don't change anything and test again.

                              Something isn't correct there.

                              Failing that, a call to Microsoft will be required.

                              Simon.
                              --
                              Simon Butler
                              Exchange MVP

                              Blog: http://blog.sembee.co.uk/
                              More Exchange Content: http://exchange.sembee.info/
                              Exchange Resources List: http://exbpa.com/
                              In the UK? Hire me: http://www.sembee.co.uk/

                              Sembee is a registered trademark, used here with permission.

                              Comment

                              Working...
                              X