No announcement yet.

iPhone 2.0 - Exchange 2003 - can't sync

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• iPhone 2.0 - Exchange 2003 - can't sync

Hi All,

I'm working on setting up mobile access and activesync for our iPhone users. Here is a brief view of our setup:

Backend - Clustered - Server 2003 SP3
    Front End: Server 2003 SP2
    SSL Certificate - Self signed, working with OWA
    OWA - working -

I'm pretty new to exchange and this is what i have done so far:

I have configured (through IIS) on the front end server to use SSL 128bit Encryption. This has been tested with OWA and all appears to be working fine. Once the certificate is accepted, users can email without problem.

If i browse to - i receive the HTTP/1.1 501 not implemented message on the screen which i believe (correct me if i'm wrong) is what i should see.

If i browse to - i am able to see my mail in it's basic format.

So, the problem comes when i try to sync the iPhones. They accept the certificate and verify the username and password but they will not sync any mail. The only error message i get anywhere is on the front end server which is the 3031 error message. I've tried to go through the KB817379 but i have an FE Exchange set up so thats method 1 out of the way! I've also been through KB215383 and my FE exchange does say

"NTAuthenticationProviders : (STRING) "Negotiate,NTLM"

when i run the cmd.

So....i'm stuck as to where to look next! Like i say, i'm no idiot, but i've not got a great deal of experiance in Exchange so any help will be greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance

Re: iPhone 2.0 - Exchange 2003 - can't sync

What do you mean by "accepting" the certificate? I never advise anyone to use a self generated certificate with Exchange, particularly with EAS as it just causes problems.
    Does it work with Windows Mobile devices? If you haven't got any, get the emulator from Microsoft.

Simon Butler
    Exchange MVP

More Exchange Content:
    Exchange Resources List: