Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• "External email addresses" not showing in GAL

Hey all,

I have an Exchange 2000 server, and recently was asked to add two contacts into Exchange DLs and Contacts-->External Email Addresses. The two contacts have email addresses that are NOT from one of our domains.

After two days, these addresses are still not searchable when I compose a new message, click To:, and search the global address list.

I'm new to managing Exchange, but did a bunch of searching on this forum and checked a few basics: the Recipient Update Service is running every morning at 6 a.m., and I did try doing a manual download of the GAL with my Outlook client to ensure I was receiving the latest info. I also checked that these new contacts I added are replicating to both our DCs.

The GAL contains many contacts that have email addresses outside of our domain, so I don't understand why my newest additions aren't popping up! Any ideas?

Brian

Re: "External email addresses" not showing in GAL

open eX sys-manager, highlight RUS and update both the enterprise and domain entries located on the right... its preferably to go ahead and rebuild it, but this will effect server performance depending on your user base and mail flow patterns, so be warned...

that should do the trick.

you arent using cached mode are you?

J
    its easier to beg forgiveness than ask permission.
    Give karma where karma is due...

Comment

James,

Wow - you totally helped me on my last post too. You're EVERYWHERE dude!

Ok, I did an update on both the enterprise and domain objects, then did Tools-->Send/Receive-->Download Address Book (because I AM using cached mode). I still don't see those dudes in the GAL.