X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Moving Information store Exchange 2003 Help Please

Advice needed please.

I have exchange server 2003 with 4 drives

c: (20gig) where the transaction logs are being written to.
    d: (50 gig) where the information store databases are.info store currently at 49 gig
    e: (120 gig)
    f: (30 gig)

As you proberbly can see i need to move my database from d:, i plan pointing it to e: using esm.

My question is when i point to e: through esm, does the database move off d:, or do i delete it, i was planning on using the d: drive for somthing else.

I have read on microsoft site about not deleting the old mdbdata folder, but it is not sinking in...

I would be grateful of any advice or info on this, i have never done this before and need some help.

Regards

Re: Moving Information store Exchange 2003 Help Please

When you use ESM to move the database it will be moved from D: (meaning it will not be on D: after the move). I have never heard of the "don't delete old MDBDATA folder" recommendation and if it were me I would delete it from D: or format D: and use it as I choose.

Comment

hi thanks for the reply..

i was reading this

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/821915

it is near the bottom about the mdbdata folder path.

regards

Comment

This is a valid article, but should only affect you if you modified the original "Working Directory" location to use your D: drive. Verify what your "Working Directory" setting is and if it's not on the D: drive then you can delete all Exchange related folders on the D: drive. If the "Working Directory" setting is on the D: drive, then you can either leave the Exchange folders alone or change the "Working Directory" setting to use another drive and then delete the Exchange related folders from the D: drive.

Comment

Thanks for the reply,

will let you know the outcome

Regards

Comment

Hi it worked fine no problems, just used esm on both databases, it moved them over