Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Mailbox Managment Policy deleted 13GB and I need it back!

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mailbox Managment Policy deleted 13GB and I need it back!

I am a new IT Manager and I made a mistake today, a big mistake. Let me start at the beginning and excuse the long post, I want to be thorough so you can understand my plight.

We run an Exchange 2003 SP2 on Windows Server 2003 SP2. We currently have around 200 Mailboxes. Our backup system is a Quantum Superloader 3 using Symantec Backupexec 11D. We do have the Exchange Agent for Backupexec. We do not have circular logging enabled.

We have in the past not set any size limits for sending or receiving messages. We also never implemented quotas or limits on user mailboxes. As a result we have seen explosive growth on the server and reached the 75GB limit today. Of course the mailbox store dismounted automatically.

I went into Exchange and turned the retention policy down from 30 days to 0 days and ran the Cleanup Agent. All of the mailboxes pending deletion were already backed up and it was an easy way to free up 2.5GB. Disaster was averted and the server was up and running with the store mounted. Now we needed a permanent solution and I knew the majority of our problem was not have any policies in place. Were we to control out mailbox management better we could last much longer on 75GB. Our largest ten mailboxes all topped 1.5GB each.

I began to open the mailbox management policy and set it to report the space savings we would realize if we implemented a new management policy. I set it to report any message over 10MB and any deleted item over 7 days. Along with this I was planning on implementing a 10MB to 15MB send and receive limit. I would would want to seek management backing to help hedge user backlash and this report should seal the deal.