OWA Empty

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• OWA Empty

Hi - I am very new to this, so please excuse my ignorance. I consult for a client that is using POP3 for email. I am attempting to set up configure Exchange Small Business Server 2003 to work with POP3 using the POP3 connector.

In my testing I have been able to successfully set up Exchange, and have a client Outlook point to the Exchange server and successfully send/receive email.

I went to test webmail, and upon loggin in my inbox is empty although I have main in my inbox on my client. I did not see any settings on the client exchange PC that tells it to download mail from the server.

Rob

Re: OWA Empty

If I correctly understand you, it is normal what is happening.
    Your Outlook POP3 client is downloading messages from you mailbox without leaving a copy on the server, so no way to see any message in OWA.
    Even if you can configure pop3 to keep a copy of emails on the server, I suggest you to use Outlook MAPI or at least IMAP4 protocol witch can do much more than the old "grand father" POP3.
    Here is a quick review of different email protocols
    http://it.med.miami.edu/x1111.xml
    Regards,
    Csaba Papp
    MCSA+messaging, MCSE, CCNA
    Remember to give credit where credit is due and leave reputation points where appropriate

Comment

And to add on Netxt's words - why use POP3 on Exchange? Don't you have better things to waste your money on? Bying Exchange then using is as a POP3 server seems like a stupid thing to do when you've got a free POP3 server built in Windows 2003...
      Cheers,

Daniel Petri
      Microsoft Most Valuable Professional - Active Directory Directory Services
      MCSA/E, MCTS, MCITP, MCT

Comment

Netxt & Danielp,
        Thanks for responding to my thread. I have more questions than answers based upon your comments.

Netxt