No announcement yet.

Trouble with RPC / HTTP

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Trouble with RPC / HTTP

I am having trouble getting RPC / HTTPS to work. I am new to Server / Exchange Administration so I don't really know what I am doing. My configuration is as follows:

Windows SBS 2003 Server with Exchange Server 2003.
    Windows XP Pro SP2 with Outlook 2007
    Sonicwall TZ170 Firewall.

Domain Names:

ocbssbws.ocbs.local (internal server name I think) (used to access mail via pop3) (used to access company Sharepoint website and OWA)

I have purchased and installed a rapidssl trial certificate in the name of I believe that I have installed it correctly but am not sure.

I claim to have followed the instructions at the following link:

I used Harry Bates Registry utility to make the registry changes but it still doesn't work. I am sure that I have made an error somewhere but I can't find it. I am confused as to what server name goes where in the server configuration and the Outlook client configuration. I have tried every combination that I can think of but nothing seems to work.

I am not computer illiterate but will freely admit I am in over my head. If there is anybody out there with patience that would like to help I certainly would appreciate it.

Re: Trouble with RPC / HTTP

As this is SBS you should not be setting things manually. The wizards should do everything for you. Re-run the Internet and Email wizard which should set everything for you correctly.

Simon Butler
    Exchange MVP

More Exchange Content:
    Exchange Resources List:
    In the UK? Hire me:

Sembee is a registered trademark, used here with permission.

I appreciate your help but I don't see a wizard that says it configures RPC / HTTP?

The Configure Remote Access talks about VPN not RPC / HTTP. Please tell me which wizard to run to make RPC / HTTP work.