No announcement yet.

E-mail re-arriving every 15 minutes

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• E-mail re-arriving every 15 minutes

Hi all,
    I've got a problem with an Exchange 2003 server (acctually several problems, but only one pressing one), running SP2 on Win2k3SP2. I have a person who sent an e-mail to a mailing list on the server, but it's been being re-delivered every 15 minutes to every person on the list. I'm not an exchange expert, and I've never seen this before, so I'm really not sure even where to start with this... any help would be much appreciated!

Re: E-mail re-arriving every 15 minutes

I've not heard of that either. You learn something new every day on this forum.

A quick google hasn't revealed much.

But it seems like the message is doing a loop. But if it were doing a loop, it would be redelivered more often then every 15 mins. And yet, that 15 mins sounds very Exchange.

I'd probably start with the Exchange Services, and restart anything to do with routing and message transfer. You could take this in order to see which one solves it, if you've got time. Otherwise, restart them all:

Stop and start the SMTP Virtual Server.
    Restart MTA Stacks
    Restart Routing Engine

The POP3 connector on an unpatched SBS Server will do that if there is addresses in the BCC field. The 15 minutes is a give away as the POP3 connector only collects every 15 minutes.

The problem is identifying where the POP3 connector is. It will not be the sender, but one of the recipients who has the problem POP3 connector.

Simon Butler
      Exchange MVP

More Exchange Content:
      Exchange Resources List:
      In the UK? Hire me:

Sembee is a registered trademark, used here with permission.