Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Problems of Incoming/Outgoing E-mails - Brand new Exchange Server 2003 Installation

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Problems of Incoming/Outgoing E-mails - Brand new Exchange Server 2003 Installation

Hi Daniel,

I have been an avid fan of your tutorials and expert advice. I am a brand new Exchange Admin and have done a brand new setup which i'll describe as below.

I haven't found a complete solution to the problems i'm facing on the installation and hence i think i'll try and create a full blown post for everyone.

Or e-mails are currently hosted by 3rd party providers and i'm setting up the e-mails servers in my companys premises. I have created a brand new Exchange installation and have been facing teething problems mainly with Incoming E-mails.

The setup is as follows:

Server-1 (NAT Server)
    2 network cards
    External NIC card connected to and External IP asigned by ISP
    Internal NIC card connected to the internal network (192.168.100.x) network
    IP - 192.168.100.254 (My default gateway)

Server -2 (DNS/AD server)
    IP address -- 192.168.100.50
    This server is acting as the DNS and AD server for the network.
    The internal domain has been defined as apr.local

Server-3 (Exchange 2003 + SP2 server)
    IP address --- 192.168.100.5
    This server is my e-mail server

I have natting and port forwading (ports 25 and 80) set on my nat server.
    I have configured a recipient policy on the Exchange server which has adfactorspr.com set as the external e-mail domain.

I have configured new MX Records for my new domain ie. owamail.adfactorspr.com with a preference setting of 5. I still have the 3rd party MX records set at preference of 0.

Now the problems that i've not been able to resolve
    1. I am able to send e-mail to external domains ----- but e-mails are not being delivered to my my email addresses.
    2. Some e-mails are being delivered at random.