Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

PocketPC and ActiveSync

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • PocketPC and ActiveSync

    i am having some problems with about 15 MDAs. I cannot make them connect to an Exchange server.

    B-E--> Win2003Ent.SP2/Ex2003Ent.SP3; IE 6.0; one storage group...
    F-E--> Win2003Std.SP2/ExEnt.SP3; IE 7.0; no mail stores...

    Ironport acts as the mail gateway in and out; OWA via https://owa.mydomain.com/exchange; Forms-Based is enabled, but is not required. i have tried it with and without...

    I have read the articles on Petri and have tried to go about it in a few of the articles mentioned, but no go... one KB says install a FE. i have one. did i install SSL incorrectly? its applied to the default web site... Is this what is interfering with ActiveSync?

    ive gotten an 0x53002003 which was said to be a timeout...

    ActiveSync worked one time before i had to separte the FE and the public web server... but since then it I have not been able to sync again. OWA is available with the GPRS connection, cause i can browse to the OWA page...

    thanks for tolerating me.
    its easier to beg forgiveness than ask permission.
    Give karma where karma is due...

  • #2
    Re: PocketPC and ActiveSync

    Does OMA work?

    https://host.domain.com/oma

    When you browse to OMA, do you get a certificate prompt?

    Simon.
    --
    Simon Butler
    Exchange MVP

    Blog: http://blog.sembee.co.uk/
    More Exchange Content: http://exchange.sembee.info/
    Exchange Resources List: http://exbpa.com/
    In the UK? Hire me: http://www.sembee.co.uk/

    Sembee is a registered trademark, used here with permission.

    Comment


    • #3
      Re: PocketPC and ActiveSync

      excuse my late response, but i got hit by a car and smacked up good the other day... feeling better now though.

      yes, OMA works like a charm, i get the cert prompt, then it goes to the logon screen where i supply "mydomain\blowj" and "[email protected]" and it looks on point. no links are broken... everything looks right. i just cant do it with the activesync feature via wireless or GPRS.

      thanks again for the suggestion. i just assumed it would and i should have double checked before posting...

      i did an export of the domain cert CA and put in on the phone, clicked it... it asked if i want to import the cert, yes, and i still get the prompt. i was under the impression that after the import it does give the nag for 3rd party certs... ??

      ill work on getting the nag taken care of while i wait on any other ideas that get tossed around...

      ***this is a semi-related question. at one point before i separated my public web and front end server, i made my MDA sync... it started pulling down my inbox. i immedantly stopped it cause at the time i had 900 some-odd items in my inbox... i didnt know it was gonna grab everything... and then i moved the FE. now i cant sync... i also had to call does the activesync process lock a users AD account to a specific phone (like old skool sat. cards, the marrige process) im just wondering if its been locked to a "MAC" or "IMEA"... ??

      sorry for the nubiness... and thanks again!
      Last edited by James Haynes; 4th December 2006, 16:09. Reason: i typed OWA instead of OMA, my bad.
      its easier to beg forgiveness than ask permission.
      Give karma where karma is due...

      Comment


      • #4
        Re: PocketPC and ActiveSync

        Until you get rid of the certificate prompt - looking elsewhere is fruitless. EAS cannot cope with the certificate prompt and you need to remove it.
        Once you are rid of the certificate prompt, then other things can be suggested - but at the moment you are at point where suggesting anything else is pointless.

        Simon.
        --
        Simon Butler
        Exchange MVP

        Blog: http://blog.sembee.co.uk/
        More Exchange Content: http://exchange.sembee.info/
        Exchange Resources List: http://exbpa.com/
        In the UK? Hire me: http://www.sembee.co.uk/

        Sembee is a registered trademark, used here with permission.

        Comment


        • #5
          Re: PocketPC and ActiveSync

          im sorry for taking so long to reply. the problem was the certificate issue. just like you said... after runnint SPcert.exe it went thru without a hitch.

          and for anyone using a T-Mobile MDA, its much easier than the write up was. i have to administer these phones, plus the 20 or so blackberries. i have my own micro SD 2 gig chip...

          i placed the x 509 exported cert and copied it to my storage card. then copied the cert tool .exe on the same card... all under root on the flash card.

          go to the start menu, file explorer, and select "storage Card" from the drop-down in the upper left title bar. click the exe and the only cert will be displayed. click it and say yes and then ok. now go back to start, setting, system> certificates. verify that you see the cert. then remove the card and reboot. thats all...

          i did have two out of 15 that had to have the cert applied three times. maybe i removed the disk too quickly, but that is why i suggest checkin the cert is listed.

          gthanks again sembee! i owe you big time again. you always keep it chill.. do you accept paypal?
          its easier to beg forgiveness than ask permission.
          Give karma where karma is due...

          Comment


          • #6
            Re: Thanks for sharing

            Thanks for sharing your answer with us! I'm sure others will also benefit from knowing what was wrong and how you fixed it.

            Cheers,

            Daniel Petri
            Microsoft Most Valuable Professional - Active Directory Directory Services
            MCSA/E, MCTS, MCITP, MCT

            Comment

            Working...
            X