No announcement yet.

MVM Profile - tehcamel

This topic is closed.
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• MVM Profile - tehcamel

MVM awardees will be featured on the Wall of Fame. Here is the info submitted to us by our 20th MVM - tehcamel

In the grand tradition of those before me, I'm really not sure what to write.

I'm Australian born and bred, but currently living in London, where I utterly love it.

I'm almost 30, and I've been working in IT for about 8 years now. I've been in love with it for 22 years though. Ahh I remember those days like it was yesterday.....

When I was 8, my dad bought home a computer.. it was an Amstrad computer, no hard drive, and a 5.25' floppy drive. Back in the days when microsoft software TOLD you to make a copy of it - all 4 brightly colored (red, blue, yellow, green) disks. It's been a love affair since then. I got into trouble alot at school with computers, and eventually self-taught myself Windows 2000 Pro to pass my first exam.

I more or less blagged my way into a service desk job with the Australian Government, and spent 5 years working with them, working up through the service desk and into an operations team, providing 24x7 support for what is one of the largest distributed Dotnet applications int he southern hemisphere. It was a great environment to learn in - massively redundant, clustered technology, tiered web applications, separate datacentres, and all the security that go with it.