No announcement yet.

3rd line job advice please

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 3rd line job advice please

I have have some great advice already from this site and wondered if someone with banking or retail 3rd line experience could help answer the following. I have some knowledge but was hoping for more detailed answers to fill the gaps if possible;

1. What exactly does a 3rd line Wintel BAU / Project engineer job entail. Please can you detail as much as possible as to what this job is with regards to day to day work. I understand server builds is part of this but how often would an engineer build a server for example? Is it just a case of working from call assignments from For Example Remedy or TfS?

2. How long would a 3rd line engineer spend working with GPO, DNS, DHCP, WINS, TCP/IP, AD, Exchange, SCCM, SCOM and other similar Wintel services during a typical 3rd line engineers BAU day?

2. Remote Desktop Implementation. What does it mean to support this at a 3rd line level? What is a 3rd line BAU engineers involvement exactly?

3. One other random question. But when creating an Active Directory group how does this link to an application exactly? I understand you add users to the AD group in order to have read write or read only access to a particular application, but what are the mechanics behind this group linking to an application or micrsoft system SCCM or SCOM for example?

Re: 3rd line job advice please

BAU normally stands for "Business As Usual" (supporting generally rather than, for example, a migration or deployment project) and IMHO covers so many unknowns that most of your questions cannot easily be answered. You will be working at MCSA/E level, supporting trained technicians, so you will probably not be interacting directly with users very much, but you could be dealing with anything from a bad server crash to an exchange connectivity failure, and almost anything else you could think of.