Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Your best GPO's

Hey guys...

Just wondering... what are your 5 most important/favorite GPO's...

If we all could post our own top 5 list i'm sure some of us could get some fresh ideas and input... I'm fairly new to GPO's so I would sure like to see what you guys use GPO's for...

My list:

1. Restricted groups
    2. Setting permissions on "home" and "profiles" so I can scan the users folders
    3. Company Wallpaper
    4. WSUS GPO
    5. Software upgrades
    Greetings from
    Petter C.
    Norway

Re: Your best GPO's

That's a good list, for what it's worth we also tend to use:

1. Startup/login scripts (i.e. for login scripts we tend to use GPO rather than the user account's properties)
    2. Disable control panel
    3. Wallpaper
    4. Hide local disk drives from Explorer
    5. Folder redirection

I'm sure we use many more but that's a startoff.
    Best wishes,
    PaulH.
    MCP:Server 2003; MCITP:Server 2008; MCTS: SBS2008

Comment

Moved to Lounge as it is more of a discussion than a GPO problem.
      1 1 was a racehorse.
      2 2 was 1 2.
      1 1 1 1 race 1 day,
      2 2 1 1 2

Comment

The logon script that runs logoff.exe was a good laugh on April Fool's day... just be sure you don't apply it to your domain admins
        Gareth Howells

BSc (Hons), MBCS, MCP, MCDST, ICCE

Any advice is given in good faith and without warranty.

Please give reputation points if somebody has helped you.

"For by now I could have stretched out my hand and struck you and your people with a plague that would have wiped you off the Earth." (Exodus 9:15) - I could kill you with my thumb.

"Everything that lives and moves will be food for you." (Genesis 9:3) - For every animal you don't eat, I'm going to eat three.

Comment

Originally posted by gforceindustries View Post
          The logon script that runs logoff.exe was a good laugh on April Fool's day...