No announcement yet.

Career Advice

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Career Advice

my Current Job title is "Group IT support Analyst" and I have 3 years proper experience in windows networks and some minor project support/management involvement. I've just started a new role in a small house building company (100 users 10 servers over 4 sites in a windows 2003 AD network). My previous role was IT Technician in the head office of a larger firm (420 + 30 servers with a little support for external sites) Basically I'm looking to become an IT/Network manager within 2 years.

What I'd like is for current IT managers to help me in pointing me in the right direction of what I should be pushing to develop in my skills set to get that role. In my current role I have a fair amount of spare time to persue my development. I will have gained my MCSE qualification by November/Christmas. I was thinking that I can get foundations of Prince2 or ITIL. I dont have much sql experience other than the most basics....

Could you just point me in the right direction of what you'd be looking at when employing an IT Manager. I was thinking about small companies innitially to build by experience before going up....

thanks in advance

David Armstrong

Re: Career Advice

From one Armstrong to another

If it's really an IT manager role you want to go after then I would get MCSE sorted and then start all the ITIL training - That seems to be the thing and I know my previous manager performed the required training and is doing pretty well.

Hope this helps

Michael Armstrong
    Michael Armstrong
    MCITP: EA, MCTS, MCSE 2003, MCSA 2003: Messaging, CCA, VCP 3.5, 4, 5, VCAP5-DCD, VCAP5-DCA, ITIL, MCP, PGP Certified Technician

** Remember to give credit where credit is due and leave reputation points sigpic where appropriate **

Armstrong is one of the best names out there!!