Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• DNS server settings

Hello all,
    I am looking for help As i am over my head, I work for a small office and I am the
    IT goto guy in the office, The problem is i am no expert at this but do have working understand of windows. Ok here is the problem.
    The office has fios and the network is set like this.
    From the ONT"fios box" it goes to a router that dishes out the ip's then two
    2 netgear 24port switches a wireless access point, 4 printers and a file server
    and appx 30 workstations a mix of xp pro and vista boxes.
    The file server a windows 2008 server used to hand out the IP's but another
    outfit came in and changed it and now the router does this.
    Here is the problem inorder for the workstations to access the net each box must have the DNS info inputed to the tcp/ip 4 properties filled in. This is not a huge
    problem, but a little pain. The big pain is the same must be done for the wireless
    side, And this IS a pain. Now the people who bring their laptops to the office have
    to make the changes so that they can use them at work and have to remove to take them home and use them or at hot spots. How do I fix this and where?
    Please take it easy on me as I said Im no expert.
    Thank you all for reading and helping.
    Jake

Re: DNS server settings

Does the router not give out the DNS server settings along with the client ip address? If not, I would put DHCP back on the Windows Server 2008 box and set up a scope for your LAN that hands out the client ip address, subnet mask, DNS servers, and default gateway.

Comment

See thats part of the problem this is over my head, and this server is flaky as can be. I would assume that the router does not as I said before for any computer
      to access the net I must input the pri and sec DNS in order for them to work.
      Jake

Comment