No announcement yet.

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Streams.exe??

I have a very irritating issue going on with Vista Home Premium, 64 bit...

Tiny bit of info on me and what I need. I work in the 3D industry, Poser Community stuff. I download zips and exe's all the time, like daily. Since moving from XP Pro, 32 bit to Vista, 64 bit I have this issue with the downloads, sometimes it actually causes WinZIP 12 to freeze. Makers of WinZIP say it's a Vista security thing and so I began looking into it.

I did a google search and found this site and forums. There is this page:
    which directed me to download Streams.exe from this page:

I don't work with Run or Command Line often enough to figure out the vague "how to" to get that "block" notice turned off and disabled.

Can someone please help??

Thanks kindly

Richard ~

Re: Streams.exe??

Did you consider Method #3 in the Petri how-to that you mentioned? Or did you not want to completely turn that feature off? If you must use stream.exe, just take stream.exe and drop it into your WINDOWS\System32 folder. Next, open up a command line and type:

Streams.exe -d <filename>
    Translation: the '-d' portion tell streams.exe to delete the stream and then the '<filename>' portion tells what file you want a stream to be deleted from. For clarity, you must include the full path to the file. Here's an easy way to find a file's full path: Right click the file, select 'properties' and then note the "Location:" portion of the files General Properties tab. So if you have a file on your desktop named "", right click it, make note of the Location and type this into a command line:

streams.exe -d c:\Users\RAMWolff\Desktop\
    However, if any portion of the path to the file has spaces in it then you'll have to use quotes around the filepath:

streams.exe -d "c:\Users\RAMWolff\Desktop\bad"
    streams.exe -d "c:\Users\RAMWolff\Desktop\Other Stuff\"