Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

SP1 not installing

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • SP1 not installing

    I have searched and searched for answers to this over the past few days, but none of the solutions I can find have worked

    Basically, its all up to date, except for SP1. When trying to install, it starts then vanishes and the following 3 errors are placed in the event log:

    Event ID:4385
    Windows Servicing failed to complete the process of changing update 937954-1_neutral_GDR from package KB937954(Update) into Resolving(Resolving) state

    Event ID:4375
    Windows Servicing failed to complete the process of setting package KB937954(Update) into Resolving(Resolving) state

    Event ID:4375
    Windows Servicing failed to complete the process of setting package KB937954(Update) into Absent(Absent) state
    I've tried all the recommended ways to solve on MS site, but still have not been able to resolve. Any ideas?
    James
    MCP

  • #2
    Re: SP1 not installing

    How are you trying to install? Are you using Windows Update, pushing it out with WSUS, running the installer after downloading it?
    Gareth Howells

    BSc (Hons), MBCS, MCP, MCDST, ICCE

    Any advice is given in good faith and without warranty.

    Please give reputation points if somebody has helped you.

    "For by now I could have stretched out my hand and struck you and your people with a plague that would have wiped you off the Earth." (Exodus 9:15) - I could kill you with my thumb.

    "Everything that lives and moves will be food for you." (Genesis 9:3) - For every animal you don't eat, I'm going to eat three.

    Comment


    • #3
      Re: SP1 not installing

      Can you install the update manually?
      I mean the KB937954

      How about the bits at the end of this too?
      http:// forums.windrivers.com/showthread.php?t=82094&page=2
      cheers
      Andy

      Please read this before you post:


      Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?

      Comment


      • #4
        Re: SP1 not installing

        I have tried WIndows update, installer after downloading and via the Service Packs disc in Technet Plus DVD (Disc 0364.17, July 2008 )
        James
        MCP

        Comment


        • #5
          Re: SP1 not installing

          Andy, yes I have tried that....
          James
          MCP

          Comment


          • #6
            Re: SP1 not installing

            Was vista installed using vlite or similar?
            cheers
            Andy

            Please read this before you post:


            Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?

            Comment


            • #7
              Re: SP1 not installing

              Vista came pre-installed on the Laptop itself. It is an Acer Aspire 9300.
              James
              MCP

              Comment


              • #8
                Re: SP1 not installing

                Anyone else have any ideas?

                I'm in touch with MS tech support, but obivously they are running through the KB stuff, which I've already tried, unless there is one that I've not seen of course....
                James
                MCP

                Comment


                • #9
                  Re: SP1 not installing

                  If it's an OEM copy then Acer should be providing support.
                  Gareth Howells

                  BSc (Hons), MBCS, MCP, MCDST, ICCE

                  Any advice is given in good faith and without warranty.

                  Please give reputation points if somebody has helped you.

                  "For by now I could have stretched out my hand and struck you and your people with a plague that would have wiped you off the Earth." (Exodus 9:15) - I could kill you with my thumb.

                  "Everything that lives and moves will be food for you." (Genesis 9:3) - For every animal you don't eat, I'm going to eat three.

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Re: SP1 not installing

                    trouble is its out of warranty and I doubt they'll support the OS.
                    James
                    MCP

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Re: SP1 not installing

                      Where did it come pre-installed from?
                      cheers
                      Andy

                      Please read this before you post:


                      Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        Re: SP1 not installing

                        If it's an OEM copy, it's up to the OEM to provide support for it. Microsoft will only provide the most basic of assistance, if that.

                        Originally posted by AndyJG247 View Post
                        Where did it come pre-installed from?
                        I think he mentioned that it was an Acer laptop.
                        Last edited by gforceindustries; 17th November 2008, 17:04.
                        Gareth Howells

                        BSc (Hons), MBCS, MCP, MCDST, ICCE

                        Any advice is given in good faith and without warranty.

                        Please give reputation points if somebody has helped you.

                        "For by now I could have stretched out my hand and struck you and your people with a plague that would have wiped you off the Earth." (Exodus 9:15) - I could kill you with my thumb.

                        "Everything that lives and moves will be food for you." (Genesis 9:3) - For every animal you don't eat, I'm going to eat three.

                        Comment


                        • #13
                          Re: SP1 not installing

                          even tho its out of warranty?

                          I'll give em a go tho and yes, its an Acer. (not my choice, boss brought it for another company of his without any consultation, but as usual I'm the one that has to pick up the peices...)
                          James
                          MCP

                          Comment


                          • #14
                            Re: SP1 not installing

                            If they won't help, then just flatten the laptop, reinstall from the recovery media supplied with it, install the updates and then restore from your backup.
                            Gareth Howells

                            BSc (Hons), MBCS, MCP, MCDST, ICCE

                            Any advice is given in good faith and without warranty.

                            Please give reputation points if somebody has helped you.

                            "For by now I could have stretched out my hand and struck you and your people with a plague that would have wiped you off the Earth." (Exodus 9:15) - I could kill you with my thumb.

                            "Everything that lives and moves will be food for you." (Genesis 9:3) - For every animal you don't eat, I'm going to eat three.

                            Comment


                            • #15
                              Re: SP1 not installing

                              Originally posted by gforceindustries View Post
                              I think he mentioned that it was an Acer laptop.
                              Yes, but it was also mentioned

                              swfblade Re: SP1 not installing
                              trouble is its out of warranty and I doubt they'll support the OS.



                              so it could have meant it was installed after some other way. Had to make sure.
                              cheers
                              Andy

                              Please read this before you post:


                              Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?

                              Comment

                              Working...
                              X