Multibooting Windows

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Multibooting Windows

OK, wasn't sure where to put this, so if one of you admin types wants to move it, feel free.

I have been tasked with creating an image (or images) of a multi-booted PC with several different versions of Windows on it. I've read enough to know that I'd prefer using a third-party boot loader over Microsoft's version, which will help to isolate each OS. However, I am still new to this and the vast majority of things I find on Google have to do with dual-booting 7 and 8 or the information is fairly old. Can anyone point me to a how-to guide or two and maybe share some of their favorite boot loaders and partition makers?

Actually, one of those older pieces I found has been quite helpful in understanding the boot process, so if anyone's interested in the subject, check out the following: http://www.goodells.net/multiboot/. It doesn't get into specifics, but it's a great jumping-off point.

Re: Multibooting Windows

From a windows perspective its best to install oldest OS first then newest, the newer boot loaders are aware of the older os's but not the other way around.
    Please remember to award reputation points if you have received good advice.
    I do tend to think 'outside the box' so others may not always share the same views.

MCITP -W7,
    MCSA+Messaging, CCENT, ICND2 slowly getting around to.

Comment

Yeah, I'm trying to do it the not-Windows way, as that seems to isolate the OS's better. The Windows way changes the boot partition of each install, while third-party boot loaders make an alteration only to the MBR. However, I've only ever used FDISK to partition drives and never used any boot loaders other than Windows, so was hoping someone would know of a good step-by-step to get me through. Your comment is greatly appreciated, though!