No announcement yet.

Mandatory Profiles in Win7 / S2008 R2 College Environment

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mandatory Profiles in Win7 / S2008 R2 College Environment

Greetings, all.

I'm a computer technician at a local college in California, US. For 8 years now, I have been using network-based Mandatory Profiles in Windows XP and Windows Vista to create multiple homogeneous environments for my computer labs (specific printer configs, backgrounds, shortcuts, screen savers, etc.). This semester we're making a large transition to Windows 7, and the 'quick way' of making a local profile into a network-based mandatory profile has changed.

Allegedly, MS is saying you need to create a local administrator, configure the settings the way you want the profile to look, run sysprep.exe as that administrator, throw in an XML file to add a <CopyProfile> command which ONLY runs in sysprep, causing the configured administrative profile to become the new Default User profile, which then can be copied to a network share. See Microsoft KB 973289. (link disabled cause I am a newb)

This sounds like, and verified by my experience so far, a great deal more complicated than it should be. I'm looking for a way to accomplish what I've been doing for 8 years in previous operating systems as efficiently as possible in Windows 7. Here's some more information:

* WDS - Windows Server 2008 R2 with latest Windows AIK installed
    * File Server - Windows Server 2003 R2
    * AD - Native Windows Server 2003 R2
    * I have VERY limited experience in creating scripts
    * I am NOT a Domain Admin, and don't have full access to upper level domain functions
    * I have tried a workaround posted in another forum using Windows Enabler v1.1 to unsuccessfully copy a profile to a network share and see if I can access it.
    * I have not yet checked other threads related to answers, and will do that next. If another thread has an answer, kindly link me to it.