Win 7 in domain, local admin

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Win 7 in domain, local admin

I'm just starting out installing some Win 7 machines in our domain. I know Vista, Win 7 have the default administrator account disabled.

Do you guys make local admin accounts on machines?

I'm wondering what happens if all users on the box are standard users and the computer can't communicate with the domain (for whatever reason), I used to be able to just reset the computer account, login to the client machine with the local admin and disjoin it from the domain to a workgroup and back and it worked.

I have no idea how I'd do this, if Domain Admin credentials are not cached on the box and no domain users were added as administrators.

Any suggestions are more then welcome.

Re: Win 7 in domain, local admin

Personally, I prefer to have a local account with admin privileges -- doesnt have to be "The Administrator"

Doesnt the account you create when you do your initial machine setup have admin permissions?
    Tom Jones
    MCT, MCSE (2000:Security & 2003), MCSA:Security & Messaging, MCDBA, MCDST, MCITP(EA, EMA, SA, EDA, ES, CS), MCTS, MCP, Sec+
    PhD, MSc, FIAP, MIITT
    IT Trainer / Consultant
    Ossian Ltd
    Scotland

** Remember to give credit where credit is due and leave reputation points where appropriate **

Comment

Sure the 1st account has admin permissions, I was just wondering if it's common practice/prefered to remove that account, so there are no local admin account on the machine.

I guess I need to create one and get creative as far as naming it.

Comment

Concur with that -- creative naming can be FUN
        Tom Jones
        MCT, MCSE (2000:Security & 2003), MCSA:Security & Messaging, MCDBA, MCDST, MCITP(EA, EMA, SA, EDA, ES, CS), MCTS, MCP, Sec+
        PhD, MSc, FIAP, MIITT
        IT Trainer / Consultant
        Ossian Ltd
        Scotland