Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

No avi codec on fresh Windows 7 installations?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• No avi codec on fresh Windows 7 installations?

So, does it make sense not to support avi files on a fresh 7 installation? Imagine my consternation when I tried to watch one of my Train Signal videos and was stymied due to no codec. Now I have to go wade through the spyware laden world of Codec Packs to find one.

However, I wonder if there's a deeper issue here. I downloaded this codec pack as well as DivX, both of which claim codecs for avi files, and I still can't watch my vids. Might it be because I'm running the 64 bit version of 7? Hmmm... In a previous installation of 7 I noticed the same issue but the codec pack I installed then worked. Unfortunately I was a bad SysAdmin and didn't document which pack I used.

Anyone else had this issue? Can anyone recommend an avi codec that they have personal experience with? (Yes, I Googled it)
    Wesley David
    LinkedIn | Careers 2.0
    -------------------------------
    Microsoft Certifications: MCSE 2003 | MCSA:Messaging 2003 | MCITP:EA, SA, EST | MCTS: a'plenty | MCDST
    Vendor Neutral Certifications: CWNA
    Blog: www.TheNubbyAdmin.com || Twitter: @Nonapeptide || GTalk, Reader and Google+: [email protected] || Skype: Wesley.Nonapeptide
    Goofy kitten avatar photo from Troy Snow: flickr.com/photos/troysnow/

Re: No avi codec on fresh Windows 7 installations?

Followup!

There was a bit more going on than I suspected. I should first preface this by stating that I am woefully clueless about codecs and the like. I thought an avi codec was an avi codec. Apparently that's not the case; there are many different avi codecs. Follow my sleuthing trail: