No announcement yet.

Auto Create List of Users

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Auto Create List of Users

Hello Everybody and Seasons Greetings!

I am a computer teacher (not IT) at a very small private school for underprivileged children. We do not have fancy software, hardware, etc. and I thus achieve what I want with mostly primitive practices.

In total I have to create 60 user accounts by hand on our peer to peer network with the "server" being a Windows XP Pro Machine - no other server software. The only difference is that my "server" has more memory and Hdd space.

Is there anyway in which this can be done automatically? I already discovered a wonderful little program which created all the home folders which they will access over the network. I set security restrictions on each folder then by hand, which is fine - I know it has to be done, but it would be so great if I could create a text file and import the users with the passwords, perhaps even as restricted users.

Your help in this regard will greatly appreciated.

Re: Auto Create List of Users

Tanya, can I suggest you contact your local Microsoft office, inform them of your software isues and ask if they can provide you with Server 2003 software and the appropriate number of CALs. Explain fully your financial position and with luck you may be provided with some Server software. MS do help out in circumstances like yours but you need to contact the correct people to get the ball rolling.

As for your present situation, your major issue is that Windows XP Pro will only accept 10 connections at any one time. Hence the need for proper Server software.