No announcement yet.

Giving up on XP password recovery. Now I can't format HD

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Giving up on XP password recovery. Now I can't format HD

I'm so frustrated! I'm really a novice at this computer stuff. I've tried to recover the admin password on my laptop. I've gone to a site suggested on this forum and downloaded the free software. I don't know what was going on but my laptop went into a slower than slow motion with no results.(I'm talking hours to open a window) I tried another link from a member on this forum and the link didn't connect. I decided the hell with it and was going to format the hd and start over. Guess what! The admin wouldn't let me format! Can anyone help me format this hd in very simple terms? I'm thinking I'll have to buy a HD and start from scratch next.

I reformated!!

Ok for those that are as frustrated as I was. I no longer have to contend with the admin pasword. There is a downside, 1) I had to reformat and lost all info. 2) I lost drivers to get on the internet. So I suggest you save as much as possible before following this procedure. In addition go to your computer and right click, then properties, hardware,device manager then click on the + next to other devices. I suggest you write everything down and search the internet for the drivers and download them to a disk or cd (not just your HD). Prior to the following procedure.