No announcement yet.

My Documents / USER's Documents

  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • My Documents / USER's Documents

    I'm looking for a way to disable the feature of XP that causes it to automatically display folders named "My Documents" as "USER's Documents" (with the login name of the owner of the folder replacing "USER")

    Here's our setup: we have a public file share on a server that gets mapped as L: with a logon script. The same path is used for everybody. (it's not secured by user) When our users log into company-owned public workstations, the My Documents icon on the desktop is automatically redirected to L:\My Documents by way of a mandatory profile. This works fine.

    However, we also have sales associates that manually map L: from their own personal computers. When people running XP open L:, the My Documents folder appears instead as "JOHN.DOE's Documents", with JOHN.DOE being a random user at that office. (the same name appears for everybody, however) This isn't strictly a problem, but it can be very confusing for some people.

    Any ideas?