Orphan domain removal from Workstation "available domains" drop down box

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Orphan domain removal from Workstation "available domains" drop down box

Hi Everyone. I am a newbie here and looking forward to getting and giving help.

I built all new servers for a company I came to and changed the internal domain name. I have joined all workstations to the new domain, but cannot get rid of the old domain name in the login drop down boxes on the workstations. This is causing some hard to train users to log into the old domain still. How can I clear that? NOTE: NO servers from the old domain are still online anywhere. And the Operations Master on the PDC is correct etc. I ran the NTSDUTIL/Meta Clean up etc... the Old domain is not listed there. HELP!!!

And thanks

Tmac

Re: Orphan domain removal from Workstation "available domains" drop down box

This is almost always WINS or DNS. Are there any entries in WINS with the name of the old Domain or DCs? Are you even running WINS? If not, check DNS for the SRV records relating to the old domain.

Tom
    For my own and your protection, I do not provide support by private message under any circumstances. All such messages will be deleted and ignored.

Anything you say will be misquoted and used against you

Comment

Hey thanks for the speedy reply. Ok, question. Are you refering to the DC or on the workstations? I have flushed DNS on all servers and I quite honestly don't know where to flush any cached WINS info.

Thanks again

Comment

Sorry.. yes i am running WINS. This is from my workstation.

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:
        Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : XXXXXX.local
        Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) 82566MM Gigabit Network Conne
        Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1A-6B-36-28-5A
        Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
        Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes