Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• USB Install. Lack admin permissions

Hi.
    Iím an administrator/supporter for 11 public schools and we have some USB c-pen 20 (handheld scanner) to help kids with a reading problem. The pen scans the text to the machine and then the machine can read the text out loud.

The problem is this:
    When a student plugs in the pen it asks for a user with admin rights.

Info:
    The students are only domain users. They canít be power users.
    The client OS is Win XP pro sp3
    Server OS is Win 2003 R2

Things done already:
    Changed rights on usbstor.inf and usbstor.pnf
    GPO settings for load and unload set with no result.

Nothing works. Plz help

Kind regards
    Czar

Re: USB Install. Lack admin permissions

Originally posted by Czar View Post
    Hi.
    I’m an administrator/supporter for 11 public schools and we have some USB c-pen 20 (handheld scanner) to help kids with a reading problem. The pen scans the text to the machine and then the machine can read the text out loud.

The problem is this:
    When a student plugs in the pen it asks for a user with admin rights.

Info:
    The students are only domain users. They can’t be power users.
    The client OS is Win XP pro sp3
    Server OS is Win 2003 R2

Things done already:
    Changed rights on usbstor.inf and usbstor.pnf
    GPO settings for load and unload set with no result.

Nothing works. Plz help

Kind regards
    Czar

Seems to me that this piece off hardware is trying to install drivers, that action needs Administrator rights if the Driver is not native to WinXP.

Best solution, install the driver manually (can be done with remote desktop) and add it to the RIS image (if you use RIS) to avoid this in the future

Dirty & quick solution, create an MSI package from the driver and push it to all client's

Comment

Originally posted by RonaldM View Post