Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Optimising XP's paging file (on a 2nd, removable HDD)

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Optimising XP's paging file (on a 2nd, removable HDD)

Dear Forum reader,
    I have never used or read these forums before, probably because I have read and been assited by Daniel's pages so well in the past.
    But now and even after reading among other guides, Daniel's article entitled How can I optimize the Windows 2000/XP/2003 virtual memory (Pagefile)? I remain unclear as to how best to optimise my notebook's paging file. The article I refer to can be viewed here http://www.petri.com/pagefile_optimization.htm
    So far I think I have a superficial understanding of most of the considerations particularly the concept of placing a paging file on a HDD which does not hold the operating or boot partitions where a system has two or more fixed hard disk drives. However in my case, I have in my IBM notebbok one 60GB primary HDD and six partitions, and a second, removable HDD which replaces the floppy, CDRW/DVD drive or other modular device.
    So given that after a clean Windows installation, I occasionally need to remove this secondary HDD to use either the floppy or CDRW/DVD drive to play the occasional DVD movie or to rip, play or burn an audio or data CD, my consideration revolves around whether to move the page file to another partiton on the fixed, primary HDD, the removable, secondary HDD or both, and whether to still as Daniel describes, leave a 50MB page file on the C drive AND if so, how best to do this.Any thoughts, ideas and suggestions as to what and how best to do it would be much appreciated. And if you occasionally find time ot look in on these forums thank you Daniel for your wonderful resource site.
    Sincerely,
    David Morgan
    in Australia (how many gold medals did we win!)

PS to my post above, I could perhaps on reflection better put my question this way: