No announcement yet.

No logon prompt - totally locked out

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• No logon prompt - totally locked out

I have been working cheerfully with my Win XP SP1 machine for many months, until some days ago I hooked up a cloned drive (a year old) to the system. On boot, just as I got the graphics screen, there was a quick message about a lsass error (did not have time to read it through), and the system got stuck at that phase. I disconnected the clone, but the machine now gets to the graphic screen and stays there. I have the mouse but no logon prompt. CTRL+ALT+DEL does nothing.

- Safe mode - same behaviour
    - "Last Good" - no dice. I don't have restore points (did not have the HD room for them )
    - Can not see the machine from the network.

Just like in the twilight zone : Can't get through - getting no connections...

Since I did not see the NTFS partitions (got C, E and F, where E and F are NTFS, E is the system) from a slave drive on my first try (I saw them later), I prepared a Bart PE CD, and then managed to see my data. From the boot log I got a hint that the registry got mixed up and the system is referred to D: . Pulled out the SOFTWARE hive and looked into it with a freeware Regxplor utility and indeed some entries were d:\windows instead of e:\windows.

I could not find a way to edit the registry on an another machine and be able to save it into a file that I can take and, using Bart PE, insert it back into the locked out system. Any suggestion will be greatly appreciated.

Also, if any of you guys have any experience in doing a repair-install from an XP SP1 CD (my concern is that I would lose the registry and/or data if I do that), please share it with me.

Needless to say, other words of wisdom are quite welcome..

Re: No logon prompt - totally locked out

Great first post with muchos info - thanks very much we really appreciate it.