Strange behaviour resolving hostname

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Strange behaviour resolving hostname

I have a strange problem on my XP workstation at home. It seems that sometimes when I open a cmd window and try to reach a host I can't resolve the name.

If I ping a hostname then I get
    Code:
    ping hostname
    Ping request could not find host hostname. Please check the name and try again.
    but when I immediately do
    Code:
    nslookup hostname
    Server:  dns1.mydomain.com
    Address:  10.0.0.8

Name:    realname.mydomain.com
    Address:  10.0.0.8
    Aliases:  hostname.mydomain.com
    it shows dns working fine. If I then repeat the ping command expecting it to find the host it again fails the same.

I am a dns administrator and am very confident regarding how this is supposed to work. I don't see why it fails to resolve the host when it worked fine a few mins ago. I am convinced this is a problem with the workstation.

I have checked the hosts file to make sure there is nothing short circuiting the name resolution method and can see that the file is empty.

The dns server is not loaded, it is connected to the same 100Mbit switch as the workstation and there is no other heavy traffic going on at the time.

I just flushed the cache and it works again now. But I don't understand how this could happen. This setup is very simple compared to what I usually do. At exactly the same time I try these things from my Linux laptop it works fine showing that the problem appears to be confined to this workstation.

The next time this happens I will look at the actual dns cache itself (can't now since I just flushed it - Doh).

Any ideas or feedback welcome.

Re: Strange behaviour resolving hostname

Do you have WINS installed on your network at all??

Have you have a look in your LMHOSTS file??

Comment

Is the host you're trying to reach have a dynamically assigned IP? If so could it be that the host updated its record?