Question, possibly stupid, possibly not

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question, possibly stupid, possibly not

Comptia apparently loves the OSI 7 layer diagram on their Net+ test. In the 10 years I have been a systems admin that has been useful exactly zero times. Now my experience is limited to what we have here, so my (very serious) question to you guys is this: Is there any REAL reason to know that? Has it ever actually been useful to you and if so how? I am having a hard time motivating myself to learn everything about this and just knowing that it may be useful at some point would be helpful.

Thanks
    Two things:
    1) If I wrote something wrong please please please let me know. I want to know ESPECIALLY if I am wrong.
    2) I have a tendency to write things that are misconstrued as being agressive or not so pleasant. That is not my intent.

Re: Question, possibly stupid, possibly not

Yes, I've found the OSI model quite useful.

It helps one understand how data is encapsulated in segments, packets and frames, which is a great help when you're troubleshooting communications and network problems; once you've verified, say, layer 3 connectivity, it's reasonably safe to assume that the problem exists at one of the layers above.

It also enables precise communication between professionals. I wish more software developers would take the time to familiarize themselves with basic network theory such as the OSI model.

Comment

Originally posted by Ser Olmy View Post
      Yes, I've found the OSI model quite useful.

It helps one understand how data is encapsulated in segments, packets and frames, which is a great help when you're troubleshooting communications and network problems; once you've verified, say, layer 3 connectivity, it's reasonably safe to assume that the problem exists at one of the layers above.