Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• which cert to start off with?

Hi Guys

im new to the certification side of IT, ive been working my way up through the IT ranks a little... service desk(helpdesk level 1,2), now administrating (i have 2-3 years experience right now) AD DNS Radius file and print virtualisation VMware etc

most of my knowledge comes from on the job experience and i am wanting to expand my knowledge and also get reconciled for my skills that i will get from these certificates

what route should i take. i really do not know where i should start

ideally i would like to self study as i have some basic VMware infrastructure at home

thanks guys

Re: which cert to start off with?

Assuming you are looking at Microsoft Certifications, look at the client or server OS tracks
    More info at http://www.microsoft.com/learning/en...echnology.aspx
    Tom Jones
    MCT, MCSE (2000:Security & 2003), MCSA:Security & Messaging, MCDBA, MCDST, MCITP(EA, EMA, SA, EDA, ES, CS), MCTS, MCP, Sec+
    PhD, MSc, FIAP, MIITT
    IT Trainer / Consultant
    Ossian Ltd
    Scotland

** Remember to give credit where credit is due and leave reputation points where appropriate **

Comment

thanks for the reply

would you recommend doing mcitp or the mcse?

thanks

Comment

Not much difference really -- both start off with the same exams, just a question of how many and how far you take it
        Tom Jones
        MCT, MCSE (2000:Security & 2003), MCSA:Security & Messaging, MCDBA, MCDST, MCITP(EA, EMA, SA, EDA, ES, CS), MCTS, MCP, Sec+
        PhD, MSc, FIAP, MIITT
        IT Trainer / Consultant
        Ossian Ltd
        Scotland

** Remember to give credit where credit is due and leave reputation points where appropriate **

Comment

Hi Ossian,

is it better to stick with 2008 or go with 2012?

thanks

Comment

What do you need for your job?
            Marcel
            Technical Consultant
            Netherlands
            http://www.phetios.com